APPLICATION FOR DENTAL LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS

GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

2 Peachtree Street, N.W.
6" Floor

Atlanta, Georgia 30303
www.gbd.georgia.gov

Please read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws and rules governing
the practice of dentistry in the State of Georgia. Visit the board’s web site for

information: www.gbd.georgia.gov

*Important**

The Board cannot process incomplete applications. If any item is missing,
incomplete or incorrect, your application cannot be reviewed by the Board.

Please review this application before you submit it to ensure that all information
and documentation is complete and correct.

Incomplete applications are maintained in the Board office for a period of one (1)
year. After such time the application is rendered void and the applicant must re-
apply and pay all required fees.

Application Checklist
The following checklist is an important part of your application. Please use this
checklist to ensure that you submit a COMPLETE application.

The $3025 non-refundable application fee payable by check or money order to the
Georgia Board of Dentistry must be included with your application. checks returned for

insufficient funds will be assessed a service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 16-9-20.

1. NOTARIZED APPLICATION: Completed application form accompanied by
the appropriate fee. Your application will not be processed unless the fee and all
supporting documents are received. If licensure is granted, the license will be
required to be renewed by the last day of December in ODD numbered years,
regardless of when you were originally licensed. The licensure process could
take up to a minimum of 30 days after submission of a completed application.
Further, all credentials applications must be considered by the Board. Plan your
application time accordingly.

2. APPLICABLE LAWS AND RULES: O.C.G.A § 43-11-41 and Board Rule 150-7-
.04 give the specific requirements for licensure by credentials. These laws and
rules may be found on the board’s website at www.gbd.georgia.gov.

3. LICENSE VERIFICATION: Official license verification for every dental license
ever held. Each verification must indicate the date of licensure, the licensure
status (active, inactive, expired, revoked, etc.) standing of license, any
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disciplinary charges made against you by the licensing board and the result of
these actions. The applicant must provide a copy of the formal
complaint/pleading, outcomes, and a personal written explanation for each
instance of discipline. You should call each state board about fees for these
services. The verification must be submitted with your application IN THE
ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE FROM THE BOARD OF EACH STATE, and
must be dated within four months of Board receipt of your application.

4, DEGREE TRANSCRIPT: An official transcript which documents graduation
with a D.D.S. or D.M.D. degree from a dental school which is accredited by the
American Dental Association Commission on Dental Education. The transcript
must be IN THE ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE FROM THE COLLEGE.
Graduates from non-accredited schools please see Board Rule 150-3-.04 and
0.C.G.A.8§43-11-40(a)(1)(A) and (B).

5. NATIONAL BOARD SCORES: National Board Scores from the ADA Joint
Commission on National Dental examinations. The ADA (1-800-621-8099) will
send a copy of National Board scores to state licensure boards only. If you ask
the ADA to send our board a copy of your National Board scores, so indicate in
your application packet. DO NOT SUBMIT THE NATIONAL BOARD
CERTIFICATE. NATIONAL BOARD SCORES MUST COME DIRECTLY FROM
THE NATIONAL BOARD TO OUR OFFICE.

6. CLINICAL LICENSING EXAMINATION: Certification that the applicant
has successfully completed with a passing score in each section, a clinical
licensing examination in general dentistry conducted by a regional or state
testing agency that meets the following criteria:

a. Anonymity between candidate and examiners.

b. Psychometrically valid procedures for standardization and calibration of
the examiners.

c. A post examination analysis of the scoring for single examination
aberrations.

Such verification shall state that the examination included clinical testing on
live patients in the following areas:
a. Periodontal clinical abilities testing.
b. Completion of at least two of the following four areas:
a. Class Il Amalgam preparation and finish
b. Cast Gold preparation and finish, Class Il inlay, onlay, partial or full
coverage crown
c. Class Il Composite preparation and finish
d. Class Il Composite preparation and finish

Such verification shall also include clinical testing on mannequin or model in

the following areas:

a. Endodontic clinical abilities testing access opening and root canal fill

b. Prosthodontic clinical abilities testing of partial denture, full denture and
implant case planning.
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Additional clinical abilities testing modules successfully completed will be
considered as substitutes where appropriate for the above requirements if
those modules test a similar skill set.

If the examination completed did not require testing in the above listed
modules, the application will be considered on an individual basis.

IMPORTANT: Clinical scores MUST be broken down by section, with a score for
each of these sections. All candidates must have taken and passed a clinical
examination with a score of 75 or greater on all sections of the examination. The
clinical examination MUST be Board approved.

7. JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION: Successful completion of the
Jurisprudence Examination with a score or 75 or higher. The Jurisprudence
examination may be taken as an open book exam. The examination and “law
and rules” governing the practice of dentistry in Georgia may be obtained on the
Georgia Board of Dentistry website at: www.gdb.georgia.gov. Score is only valid
for one (1) year.

8. NATIONAL PRACTITIONER DATA BANK: To obtain a self query from the
NPDB-HIPDB, please visit www.npdb-hipdb.com or call the Customer Service
Center at 1-800-767-6732.

If the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) report provides any disciplinary
action, certified copies of any pending or final disciplinary actions or malpractice
actions against applicant must be submitted. All applicants must submit a NPDB
report along with the completed application. The NPDB report must be dated
within four months of the submission of the application. The ONLY applicants
exempt from the requirement of NPDB report submission are those applicants
within 6 months of dental school graduation and have never been issued a dental
license in any state or U.S. territory.

The NPDB report must be received in the ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE
FROM NPDB. Applicants who have disciplinary or malpractice case(s) (open &
closed) will be considered for licensure on a case- by-case basis, after receipt of
all required application materials. For each case, the applicant must submit:

1) A copy of the formal complaint pleadings filed by the plaintiff/complainant or
State Regulatory Agency,

2) A copy of the final action, disposition, or settlement,

3) A personal explanation of the disciplinary action or the malpractice claim, and
4) Any further information requested by the Board in separate communications.

9. COPY OF COURT DOCUMENTS OR AFFIDAVITS explaining any
discrepancies of the applicant’s name if documents submitted bear different
name(s).[i.e. marriage certificate, divorce decree, legal name change]

10. CPR: A photocopy of current CPR certification in compliance with Board Rule
150-3-.08.

11. DEA REGISTRATION: Verification of applicant’s status with the federal Drug

Enforcement Administration (DEA), from the DEA, even if applicant is not
currently registered with the DEA.
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12. EMPLOYMENT AFFIDAVIT: An affidavit from the applicant stating
employment for the five years immediately preceding application:
(A) The dates and locations where the applicant has practiced dentistry; and (B)
The applicant has been in full time clinical practice of a minimum of 1000 hours
per year in the hands on treatment of patients. Training programs do not qualify
as full time clinical practice. Please note that the practice requirement
cannot be waived as it is required by law.

13. MALPRACTICE QUESTIONNAIRE: Complete one for each suit and attach the
necessary documentation. (If not applicable, write N/A on the form sign, date,
and return with application).

Upon receipt of the license, the applicant by credentials must establish active
practice in this state within two years of receiving such license or the license
shall be automatically revoked.

Relocation: If you relocate during the time that your application is being processed, you

must notify the Board of your new address in writing by fax 678-717-6694 or mail. This
will enable you to receive Board correspondence.
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Listing of States accepted for Licensure by Credentials

Alabama
Alaska
Arkansas
Arizona
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
District of Columbia
Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

lowa

Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada

New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
**New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
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Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas

Utah
Vermont
Virgin Islands
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

**Yes, provided completion of a clinical
licensing examination and not PGY 1.

States not accepted for Licensure by
Credentials — Dental and Dental
Hygiene***

Florida

***Please refer to Georgia Rule 150-7-
.04 and O.C.G.A. § 43-11-41 for
dentists, and Georgia Rule 150-7-.05
and O.C.G.A.§ 43-11-71.1 for dental
hygienists

Please note all application fees are non-
refundable and non-transferable. This
list is subject to change and will be
updated on an as needed basis.



Do Not Write In This Section:

Receipt#:
/_\ GEORGIA DEPARTMENT Amount:
“—__~)) OF COMMUNITY HEALTH Applicant #:

Initials/Date:

GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Address: 2 Peachtree Street, N.W., 6" Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303
Telephone #:  (404) 651-8000

Fax #: (678) 717-6694

Website: www.gbd.georgia.gov

Application For: Dental Licensure by Credentials
Obtained By Method — Credentials - $3,025 Non-refundable/Non-transferable application fee.
Checks returned for non-sufficient funds will be assessed a $40 service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A.§ 16-9-20

- If you have a disability and may require an accommodation, you must contact the Board to obtain the
REQUEST FOR DISABILITY ACCOMMODATIONS GUIDELINES.
VETERANS PREFERENCE POINTS- Veterans may be eligible for special benefits in testing. For more
information, contact the Board office. Submit copy of DD-214 with your application.

Part I: Personal Information

1. Name:

Last First Middle Maiden

Name as shown on examination records or transcripts (if different)

2. Social Security Number*: - - 3. Date of Birth:

4. Physical Address:

(Street) (Apt. #) (City/State/Zip) (P.O. Box Not Acceptable)

5. Mailing Address:

(Street) (Apt. #) (City/State/Zip)

If you are granted a license, your name, mailing address and license number are public information.

6. E-Mail Address:

7. Telephone #: Home ( ) Work ()
Other ( )
8. Military Service: Dates of Service:

Honorable/Dishonorable Discharge:

*This information is authorized to be obtained and disclosed to state and federal agencies pursuant to O.C.G.A. §19-11-1 and
0.C.G.A. §20-3-295, 42 U.S.C.A. 8551 and 20 U.S.C.A. §1001. It may also be disclosed to the National Practitioner’s
Databank (NPDB) and the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) or other licensing boards, or other

regulatory agencies for license tracking purposes. **Submit copy of Registration Card.
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Part 11: Professional Education

9. Highest Degree Earned: Doctorate Master Bachelor Associate
Diploma/Certificate

10. Have you at any time graduated from or attended a dental school not approved by CODA (Commission on
Dental Accreditation)? [0 Yes [ No If yes, please submit an official transcript from this school.

a. Dates Attended: c. Graduation Date:
b. Major: d. Degree(s) Earned:

11. Name/Address of Entry Level Professional Institution (e.g. technical school, undergraduate
college/university):

a. Dates Attended: c. Graduation Date:
b. Major: d. Degree(s) Earned:
12. Name/Address of Graduate School/University:

a. Dates Attended: c. Graduation Date:
b. Major: d. Degree(s) Earned:

13. Name/Address of Post-Graduate School/Hospital (if applicable):
a. Type of Training: b. Dates Attended:

14. National Board Information:

I understand that it is my responsibility to see that a copy of my scores be mailed from the Joint Commission on
National Dental Examinations directly to the Board. For your convenience, the

number is: 1-800-621-8099.

Signature of Applicant

15. National Practitioners Data Bank/Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank

The Georgia Board of Dentistry requires all candidates for licensure to query the NPDB/HIPDB before licensure
will be granted: You may contact the NPDB/HIPDB by calling: 1-800-767-6732 or by submitting your query
online at: www.NPDB.com. (When you receive the RESPONSE from the NPDB/HIPDB please forward the
information to the Board office along with your completed application).

If you are a recent graduate (within the past six months) and not licensed in any other state, you are exempt
from this requirement.

Part I11:

If yes to any of the following questions you must attach a full written explanation pertaining to that

particular question.

16. Was your pre-dental education or dental education interrupted, other than the usual vacation periods?
O Yes O No

17. Do you presently have any contagious or infectious disease? [0 Yes [ No
18. Have you ever been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs? 0 Yes [ No

19. Have you ever had a formal complaint filed against you with any dental society, association, hospital, or dental
board? 0 Yes [ No

20. Has any state licensing board revoked or suspended your certificate/license, or taken other disciplinary
action? O Yes [ No

21. Have you ever been denied a DEA registration number or been issued a restricted DEA registration?
O Yes [ONo

09/25/2013


http://www.npdb.com/

22. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a dental license, a controlled substances registration, or
DEA registration? [0 Yes [ No

23. Have you ever had any malpractice suits filed against you? [ Yes [ No

24. Have you ever been denied participation in, or suspended from the Medicaid or Medicare benefit program?
O Yes O No

25. Have you ever been denied issuance of or, pursuant to disciplinary proceedings, refused renewal of a license by
any board or agency in Georgia or any other state? [0 Yes [ No

26. Have you ever been denied the privilege of taking an examination before any Dental Board or licensing
authority? 0 Yes [ No

27. Have you ever failed an examination required of any Dental Board or other licensing authority?
O Yes O No

28. Have you failed a portion of any clinical examination, CRDTS, NERB, ADEX, SRTA, WREB, CITA or any
other regional or state clinical examination? O Yes [ No If yes, give dates (list regional and/or state if
applicable)

If you have failed this exam three (3) or more times, please request an exam history from CRDTS, NERB, ADEX,
SRTA, WREB, CITA, or any other regional or state board.

29. Have you ever been refused any privilege of prescribing controlled substances, or had any prescribing
privileges of controlled suspended or revoked? OO Yes [ No

30. Have you ever been refused, or suspended from membership in a dental society, or association, or hospital
staff? 0 Yes [ No

31. Have you ever personally used narcotics or alcohol excessively or have you ever undergone treatment for
addiction to alcohol or other controlled substances or habit forming substances? [0 Yes [0 No

32. Have you ever been summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with,
or pled guilty to, or pled, nolo contender to, a violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any felony or
misdemeanor (excluding minor traffic violations), (DWI & DUI are not minor traffic violations), or have you been
requested to appear before a prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter? [0 Yes [0 No

(Although a conviction may have been expunged from the records by order of court, it nevertheless must be
disclosed in your answer to this question). If yes, for each occurrence furnish a written statement giving the
complete facts in your own words, including in such statement the date, name and nature of the offense, the name
and locality of the court, and the disposition of each such matter. You must attach the court disposition.

33. Are there any other facts not disclosed by your answers which may have a bearing on your fitness or eligibility
to practice dentistry in Georgia and which should be placed at the disposal or brought to the attention of the State
Board of Dentistry? [0 Yes [INo

34. Out of State Licensure Certification(s):
List all states which you have been issued a license to practice dentistry: (active, inactive, revoked, suspended,
expired, lapsed etc.) You should have each state listed send an official letter of licensure verification/certification.

See instruction sheet for details.

STATE DATE OF LICENSURE LICENSE STATUS

09/25/2013



35. References: Listed below are two references that | have supplied with the proper form included in my application
packet.

I understand that it is my responsibility to see that these forms are returned. | certify these references are
not related to me, nor are they connected with any dental college | attended.

Name Name

Address Address

City, State, Zip City, State, Zip
Occupation Occupation
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Part 1V:
AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION

I acknowledge and state that | have read the application and instructions that accompanied this application and |
have answered all questions in compliance with these instructions. | acknowledge that it is my responsibility to
read and become familiar with the Dental Practice Act and the Board Rules.

| further state that by submitting this application for a license to practice dentistry/dental hygiene in the State of
Georgia, | hereby authorize and consent to have an investigation made as to the moral character, professional
reputation and fitness for the practice of dentistry/ dental hygiene. | agree to give any further information in which
may be required in reference to my past record. | understand that I will not receive a copy of the report or know its
contents and | further understand that the contents of the investigative report will be privileged unless determined
otherwise by the Board or Court Order.

I hereby authorize the Georgia Board of Dentistry to receive any criminal history record pertaining to me, which
may be in the files of any state or local criminal justice agency in Georgia or any other State or Territory. |
authorize and request every person, hospital, clinic, community, governmental agency (local, state, federal or
foreign), court, association, institution, or other organization having control of any documents, records and other
information pertaining to me, to furnish to the Georgia Board of Dentistry any information, including documents,
records, regarding charges or complaints filed against me, formal or informal, pending or closed, or any other
pertinent data and to permit the Georgia Board of Dentistry or any of its agents or representatives to inspect and
make copies of such documents, records and other information, in connection with this application, subsequent
licensure or practice thereunder.

| hereby release, discharge and exonerate the Georgia Board of Dentistry, its agents or representatives, and any
person so furnishing information, from any and all liability of every nature and kind arising out of the furnishing or
inspection of such documents, records or other information or the investigation made by the Georgia Board of
Dentistry. | authorize the Georgia Board of Dentistry to release information, material, documents, orders or the like
relating to me or to this application to any other State or Territory of the United States or Province of Canada, a law
enforcement agency, a hospital or other appropriate agencies as determined by the Board.

I, the undersigned, do hereby affirm under penalty of perjury that all statements made and information contained in
this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. Further, | consent to a thorough
investigation of my employment record and other information that may be necessary to verify my qualifications to
practice. | understand that any final disciplinary action that may ever be taken against my license, if it is granted,
would be provided to a national disciplinary reporting system and that my Social Security number would be a part
of that report.

By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, | hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true
and accurate pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1:

1) I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. Please submit a copy of your current
Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or document as indicated on pages 14
& 15 of this application.

2) I am not a United States citizen, but |1 am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 years
of age or older, or I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act 18
years of age or older with an alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal
immigration agency. Please submit a copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either
your Alien number or your 1-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS number.

In making the above attestation, | understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result in
disciplinary action by the Georgia Board of Dentistry and/or criminal prosecution.
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SIGNATURE PAGE FOR AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION

This is to certify that the foregoing information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

Signature of Applicant

Date Please attach recent photograph

(Print Name Above)

County State

being duly sworn, says that he/she is the person who executed the above application for license to practice
dentistry/dental hygiene in the State of Georgia; and that all the statements herein contained are true in every
respect and that the attached photo is a true photo of the applicant.

Notary Public Notary: Do not notarize this section_
unless photograph is attached.

Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of ,

(SEAL) My Commission Expires
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Part V: MALPRACTICE QUESTIONNAIRE

Name of Dentist Business Telephone

Address City, State, Zip

MALPRACTICE CHARGES/ALLEGATIONS: Include name of patient, age, sex, date
of occurrence and location (include address).

List names of other dentists and/or physicians:

DISPOSITION: [ Pending [ Settled If settled, provide the following information:
Settlement Date Total Settlement Amount
Amount Attributable to you: 0 InCourt [ Out of Court

The Board requires that you furnish documentation of the above information directly from
the insurance company or attorney. Such documentation should include plaintiff's
complaint, settlement agreement, and/or court order.

Signature Date

COMPLETE ONE QUESTIONNAIRE ON EACH MALPRACTICE SUIT
YOU MAY DUPLICATE THIS FORM.

If not, applicable, please write (N/A), sign and return with completed application.
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Part VI: STATE LICENSURE CERTIFICATION

TO THE APPLICANT: Please complete the top section of this form and mail to each
state in which you are now or have been licensed to practice dentistry/dental hygiene.
This form may be reproduced as necessary.

TO: Board of Dentistry

| am applying for licensure and the Georgia Board requires that your Board complete this
form in order for my application for licensure to be considered. By signing this form, |
am giving my consent to the release of any information, favorable or otherwise, for
review by the Georgia Board in its consideration of me for licensure.

My license Number was issued by your Board on on the
basis of ( ) State Board Exam, ( ) Reciprocity/Endorsement, ( ) National Board,
( ) Credentials, ( ) Other

Applicant's Full Name (print or type) Address

Signature City State Zip

*This section to be completed by an official of the above referenced licensing board.*

Please return this form directly to the applicant in a sealed envelope.

Dental/Dental Hygiene license number to practice dentistry/dental

hygiene in the State of was issued on day

Is license current and in good standing? () Yes () No*
Has any disciplinary action ever been taken against this license? () Yes* () No

*Please provide complete details, including copies of any documents.

Signature Date

Title (BOARD SEAL)

Licensing Board
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Part VII
GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY
AFFIDAVIT
DENTAL LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS
This form must be completed, signed, notarized and returned with the application packet.
For the five years immediately preceding my application for licensure by credentials, | have practiced at the

following locations:

Location (COMPLETE ADDRESS) Dates of Employment

I have been in full time clinical practice of a minimum of 1,000 hours per year in the hands—on treatment of
patients. | understand that training programs do not qualify as full time clinical practice.

Signature

Date

Affirmed to and subscribed before me this day of , 20

(Official Seal)

Notary Public

My commission expires , 20
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(You may duplicate this form)

TO THE REFERENCE: The person listed below is applying for licensure as a dentist in the State of
Georgia. The applicant is required to furnish satisfactory evidence that he/she is qualified to practice
professional dentistry. You have been given this form as one who knows the applicant well and can attest
to his/her character, ability, reputation, and professional attainments. The statements you provide must be
from personal knowledge only, and should be made with full realization of the responsibility toward the
public involved. You should answer fully, carefully, and with the utmost frankness. Be assured that the
information you furnish will be treated as strictly confidential. Please return your recommendation

directly to the applicant. RETURN TO APPLICANT IN A SEALED ENVELOPE,

NAME OF APPLICANT
FROM
Reference Full Name (Daytime telephone # including area code)
Address
City State Zip Code
1. Are you a licensed dentist? __ Yes No If yes, what state(s)?

If no, what is your present profession?

N

. How long have you known the applicant? __ Year(s) Are you related?

3. In what capacity have you known him/her?

4. Do you know anything reflecting adversely on the applicant’s integrity or general good character?
Yes No If yes, give details on a separate page.

5. Do you feel that this applicant is qualified to have responsibility of a dental office? Yes
No If no, give details on a separate page.

6. Would you feel comfortable going to this person for your dental needs? Yes No
If no, give details on a separate page.

7. What is the applicant’s character, reputation, and standing in the community?

The undersigned certifies that the above statements, to the best of his/her knowledge and belief, are
correct.

Signature Title Date
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GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY
2 Peachtree Street, N.W.
6™ Floor
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

CONSENT FORM

| hereby authorize the Georgia Board of Dentistry (“Board”) to receive any Georgia
criminal history record information pertaining to me which may be in the files of any
state or local criminal justice agency in Georgia.

Full Name (Print)

Physical Address (P.O. Boxes NOT Accepted)

City, State, Zip

Sex Race Date of Birth Social Security Number

One of the following must be checked:
D This authorization is valid for 90/180/___ (circle one) days from date of signature.

(], give consent to the Board to
perform periodic criminal history background checks for the duration of my
licensure with this state.

Signature of Applicant Date

Special licensure provisions (check if applicable):

Working with mentally disabled
Working with elder care
Working with children
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APPLICANT: PLEASE CHECK THE FORM OF IDENTIFICATION BELOW
THAT YOU POSSESS. RETURN THIS FORM ALONG WITH A COPY OF
YOUR APPROPRIATE DOCUMENTATION.

Name
Secure and Verifiable Documents Under O.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2
Issued August 1, 2011 by the Office of the Attorney General, Georgia

The Illegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 (“IIREA”) provides that
“[n]ot later than August 1, 2011, the Attorney General shall provide and make public on
the Department of Law’s website a list of acceptable secure and verifiable documents.
The list shall be reviewed and updated annually by the Attorney General.” O.C.G.A. §
50-36-2(f). The Attorney General may modify this list on a more frequent basis, if
necessary.

The following list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of
0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2, contains documents that are verifiable for identification purposes,
and documents on this list may not necessarily be indicative of residency or immigration
status.

A United States passport or passport card [O.C.G.A. §8 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR
§274a.2]

A United States military identification card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR
§274a.2]

A driver’s license issued by one of the United States, the District of Columbia, the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas
Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or the Swain Islands, provided
that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying information
regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to
enable the identification of the bearer [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR 8§ 274a.2]

An identification card issued by one of the United States, the District of Columbia,
the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas
Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or the Swain Islands, provided
that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying information
regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to
enable the identification of the bearer [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

A tribal identification card of a federally recognized Native American tribe,
provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying
information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color,
and address to enable the identification of the bearer. A listing of federally recognized
Native American tribes may be found at:

http://www.bia.gov/WhoWeAre/BIA/OIS/TribalGovernmentServices/TribalDirec
tory/index.htm [O.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

A United States Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card
[O.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]
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An Employment Authorization Document that contains a photograph of the bearer
[O0.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

A passport issued by a foreign government [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR §
274a.2]

A Merchant Mariner Document or Merchant Mariner Credential issued by the
United States Coast Guard [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

A Free and Secure Trade (FAST) card [0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2]
A NEXUS card [0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2]

A Secure Electronic Network for Travelers Rapid Inspection (SENTRI) card
[O.C.G.A. 850-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2]

A driver’s license issued by a Canadian government authority [0.C.G.A. 8 50-36-
2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

A Certificate of Citizenship issued by the United States Department of Citizenship
and Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-560 or Form N-561) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-
2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

A Certificate of Naturalization issued by the United States Department of
Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-550 or Form N-570) [O.C.G.A.
§ 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

Certification of Report of Birth issued by the United States Department of State
(Form DS-1350) [O0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

Certification of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State
(Form FS-545) [0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR 8 37.11]

Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State
(Form FS-240) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR 8 37.11]

An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a State, county,
municipal authority, or territory of the United States bearing an official seal [0.C.G.A. §
50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

In addition to the documents listed herein, if, in administering a public benefit or
program, an agency is required by federal law to accept a document or other form of
identification for proof of or documentation of identity, that document or other form of
identification will be deemed a secure and verifiable document solely for that particular
program or administration of that particular public benefit. [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(¢)]
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GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY
2 Peachtree Street, N.W.
6" Floor
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

CANDIDATES MUST SUBMIT A COMPLETED JURISPRUDENCE EXAM
ALONG WITH A COMPLETE APPLICATION WITH NECESSARY

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS IN ORDER TO HAVE A COMPLETED
APPLICATION.

Name Social Security Number

Address

Date

DENTAL EXAMINATION
Dental Laws and Rules Examination
Place your answer on the line to the left of each question.

Choose the best answer for each question:

1. A patient has been terminated from a practice. In order for the
dentist not to be accused of patient abandonment, a location for
emergency care must be provided for at least how many days?

A. 14
B. 30
C.45
D. 60

2. In order to obtain a conscious sedation permit the dentist must be
trained in .

A. safety

B. management of medical emergencies.

C. safety and management of medical emergencies.
D. none of the above.

3. A dental assistant may perform which of the following delegated
duties with expanded duties training?

A. placement of rubber dam.

B. placement of topical anesthetic
C. placement of retraction cord

D. placement of a temporary crown

4. In order to refuse to grant a license, revoke a license or discipline a
licensee the Board must vote
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A. by a majority.
B. by % of the Board.
C. unanimously.
D. none of the above.

Advertising using full names of practitioners at a specific location
must comply with which of the following

A. no names are required

B. name of at least one practitioner at that location.
C. name of practice owner.

D. none of the above

An expanded duties assistant under direct supervision of the dentist
may perform the placement of sealants and retraction cord.

A. True
B. False

In order for a dentist to renew his license to practice dentistry he
must

A. have a current DEA registration

B. be a member of the Georgia Dental Association

C. be a member of the American Dental Association

D. be currently certified in cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

. In order to fulfill the requirements for an enteral/enteral inhalation

conscious sedation permit the applicant must have at least how many
hours of patient experiences which shows competency in
enteral/enteral inhalation conscious sedation?

A.5

B. 10
C.15
D. 20

9. A dental hygienist working under the direct supervision of a dentist
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may perform all of the following EXCEPT

A. periodontal probing .

B. administer local anesthesia

C. take oral x-rays

D. root planning with hand instruments



10.

11.

The dental assistant without expanded duties training can perform all
of the following duties EXCEPT

A. monitor nitrous-oxide and adjust with supervision

B. polish enamel and restorations of the anatomical crown
C. remove dry socket medication

D. place and remove rubber dams.

A dental hygienist can perform which of the following?

A.removal of calculus deposits

B. polishing of teeth

C.removal of stains from the teeth
D. all of the above

12. A dental license may be refused or revoked for each of the following,

EXCEPT

A. unprofessional conduct which affects fitness to practice dentistry.
B. taking a 20 day vacation.

C. Pleading "no contest" to a felony.

D. Making fraudulent representations to the Board.

13. Following the end of the renewal biennium, a dentist must maintain

documentation of continuing education course attendance for

A. 1 year B.
3 years C.
5 years D.
10 years

14. A dental hygienist must have what kind of supervision from the

15.
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dentist while practicing dental hygiene?
A. indirect

B. direct

C. general

D. none

All complaints must be made in writing to which of the following?

A. American Dental Association
B. Governor’s office

C. Georgia Board of Dentistry
D. Georgia Dental Association



16. Of the required 40 continuing education hours, a minimum of how

many hours must involve the actual delivery of dental services to
patients?

A. 10
B. 20
C.30
D. 40

17. A report of all incidences of morbidity and mortality must be

18.

19.

submitted to the Board within

A. 30 days
B. 60 days
C. 180 days
D. 1 year

A dentist shall not allow a dental technician to visit his/her office to
see a patient EXCEPT to assist in the selection of a tooth shade.

A. True
B. False.

A dental assistant may perform all of the same duties of a dental
hygienist under which conditions?

A. when the hygienist is on sick leave.

B. when there are too many patients to be seen.

C. no circumstances

D. when the hygienist instructs the dental assistant to do so.

20. A patient requests conscious sedation. He currently takes Prozac

as prescribed by his physician. A dentist without a conscious
sedation permit may administer

A. nothing without consulting the prescribing physician.
B. additional dose of Prozac only

C. local anesthetic only

D.N20 and local anesthetic

21. A dental assistant must work under what type of supervision in a
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dentist office?

A. telephone supervision by the dentist

B. hour-to-hour supervision by the dentist

C. direct supervision and control by the dentist
D. indirect supervision and control by the dentist.



22. Face bow transfers, place periodontal dressings, make night guard

23.

impressions and place cavity liner and base over exposed pulps are
all duties that can be performed by

A. the dental assistant

B. the expanded duties assistant
C. the lab technician

D. the sterilization technician

Pit and fissure light cured sealants may be applied by

A. the dental assistant.

B. the hygienist and expanded duty assistant.
C. the x-ray technician.

D. bothaand b

24. How many practicing dental hygienists can a dentist safely and

reasonably supervise?

Al
B. 2
C.4
D. unspecified

25. The voluntary surrender of a license has the same effect as

revocation and is subject to reinstatement by the Board.

A. true
B. false

26. An expanded duties dental assistant must obtain which of the

following?
A. a certificate of completion from the General Dentistry Association.
B. Course |, Il, & Il certificate of completion

C. a certificate of completion from a school recognized and
approved by the board.
D. membership in any Georgia professional organization

27. What happens if the applicant fails to appear before the Board for a
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hearing?

A. he/she is excused.

B. the Board will carry on with a decision.
C. the Board will not meet

D. his /her license is automatically revoked.



28. The expanded duties dental assistant may perform changing of the
in-office bleaching agent with direct supervision only after

A. the light blinks twice

B. 20 minutes have elapsed.

C. desensitizing medications have been applied
D. the dentist has applied the initial application.

29. How many years after the date of the last treatment must a dentist
maintain a patient’s treatment record?

A. 2 years
B. 3 years
C. 10 years
D. 7 years

30. What device does conscious sedation require by law?

A. pulse oximeter

B. approved N20/O2delivery unit

C. positive pressure Oz delivery system
D. both Aand C

31. Who is authorized to use air abrasive equipment in a dentist office
for removal of stains?

A. the dental hygienist.

B. the expanded duties assistant.
C. the licensed dentist.

D. both Aand C

B R R R R R R S S R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R S R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R R S R R R R R R R S R R R R R R R R R e e

KEKAAEAAAEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAIAAAAAAAAAAAAkAAhkAAhhkhhhkhkhhkhkhhkhkihhkihhiihiiiixx

LAWS AND RULES EXAMINATION FROM
THE GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

SCORE:

a PASSED

a FAILED
Name
Address
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GEORGIA DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY HEALTH
2 Peachtree Street, N.W.
6™ Floor
Atlanta, Georgia 30303

Georgia Board of Dentistry
Jurisprudence Examination Dental/Dental Hygiene

Rule 150-3-.01(6); Rule 150-5-.02(9): In determining whether an applicant has
met the requirements for licensure, an applicant must receive a passing score of 75 or

greater on the Georgia jurisprudence examination. Such score will be deemed valid for a
period not to exceed one year from the date in which the examination was administered.

AFFIDAVIT of Applicant:

l, , do hereby certify under oath the following:

| understand that this is an open book examination and the only authorized
sources of assistance for completing this examination are the Georgia Law and Rules.

| have read the Georgia Law and Rules regulating the practice of dentistry in its
entirety and have completed this examination without the aid or assistance of any
individual or other unauthorized source.

| further understand that in accordance with O.C.G.A. § 43-11-47(a)(2) and
0.C.G.A. § 43-11-72, the Board shall have the authority to refuse to grant a license or to
revoke a license or to discipline a licensee upon a finding by a majority of the Board that
a licensee or applicant has knowingly made misleading, deceptive, untrue, or fraudulent
representations in the practice of dentistry or on any document connected therewith.

Witness my signature, the day of , 20

Signature of Affiant

Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of , 20

Notary Public

My Commission Expires:

09/25/2013



Affidavit Regarding Citizenship

Please submit this document along with a copy of your secure & verifiable document to the Board office as
indicated on the application. For renewal applications, you may upload with your online submission, email to
dentistry@dch.georgia.gov, fax to 770-344-5755, or mail to the Board office: 2 Peachtree Street, 6™ Floor,
Atlanta, GA 30303.

Print Name: License Number:

APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT:

| hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge
and belief. | further swear and affirm that | have read and understand the current state laws and rules and regulations of
the Board for which | am applying for licensure and | agree to abide by these laws and rules, as amended from time to

time.

By signing this application, | hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and accurate pursuant to O.C.G.A. 8§
50-36-1 (check one):

1) I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. Please submit a copy of your current Secure and
Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or document as indicated on the Board’s
website.

2) I am not a United States citizen, but | am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 years of age

or older, or I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act 18
years of age or older with an alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other
federal immigration agency. Please submit a copy of your current immigration document(s) which
includes either your Alien number or your 1-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS number.

In making the above attestation, | understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result in
disciplinary action by the Board for which | am applying for licensure and/or criminal prosecution.

Signature of Applicant Date

Personally appeared before me, the undersigned official authorized to administer oaths, comes

who deposes and swears that he/she is the person who executed this affidavit

(Applicant’s Printed Name)

for a professional license application in the State of Georgia; and that all of the statements herein contained are true to

the best of his/her knowledge and belief.

Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of , 20

NOTARY PUBLIC

My Commission Expires: (Notary Seal)
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