
150-7-.04 Dental Provisional Licensure by Credentials. 

(1) For purposes of this rule “State” includes Washington D.C. and all U.S. territories.  
(2) “Provisional Licensure by Credentials” means a license to practice dentistry in the 
State of Georgia granted to individuals licensed to practice dentistry in another state who 

have not met all of the requirements for a regular dental license but who have met 
equivalent requirements for the practice of dentistry as set forth in O.C.G.A. § 43-11-41 
and by board rule. 
(3) “Full Time Clinical Practice” means a minimum of 1,000 hours for each twelve (12) 

month period immediately preceding the date of the application in the hands-on treatment 
of patients. Training programs do not qualify as full time clinical practice. 
(4) “Active Dental License” is defined as an unencumbered license held by an individual 
without restrictions.  

(5) “Full Time Clinical Faculty Practice” means a minimum of 1,000 hours for each 
twelve (12) month period immediately preceding the date of the application in the 
teaching of clinical dental skills at an ADA-accredited dental school/program. Training 
programs do not qualify as full time clinical faculty practice. 

(6) Only those applicants licensed and currently engaged in full time clinical practice as 
defined in subsection (3) of this rule in a state that has a credentialing law similar to the 
licensure by credentials law in Georgia will be considered by the board for a provisional 
license by credentials. Applicants from states not issuing licenses by credentials are 

ineligible. 
(7) The board may, in its discretion, grant a provisional license by credentials to dentists 
licensed in another state who do not hold a Georgia license to practice dentistry.  
(8) As set forth in O.C.G.A. § 43-11-41, an applicant for a provisional license by 

credentials must also meet the following requirements: 
(a) Must have an active dental license in good standing from another state. 
(b) Must have received a doctor of dental surgery (D.D.S.) degree or a doctor of dental 
medicine (D.M.D.) degree from a dental school approved by the board and accredited by 

the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association (A.D.A.) or 
its successor agency. 
(c) Applicants must have been in full time clinical practice, as defined in subsection (3) 
of this rule; full time faculty as defined in subsection (5) of this rule; or a combination of 

both for each of the five years immediately preceding the date of the application.  
(d) Candidates with any felony convictions are not eligible. Candidates convicted of a 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or dealing with the administering, dispensing or 
taking of drugs including, but not limited to controlled substances, are not eligible. 

(e) Those applicants who have received a doctoral degree in dentistry from a dental 
school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 
Association, or its successor agency, must provide the following in order to complete 
their application: 

1. Certified copy of the applicant’s testing results showing passage of all sections with a 
score of 75 or higher or its equivalent score on a clinical examination administered by the 
board or a testing agency designated and approved by the board.  
(i) After a fourth failure of one or more sections of any clinical examination, no further 

attempts will be recognized by the board for licensure by credentials in Georgia.  



2. Show passage with a score of 75 or higher on a jurisprudence examination on the laws 
and rules governing the practice of dentistry in the State of Georgia. Such examination 
shall be administered in the English language.   

3. Proof of current CPR certification;  
4. Copies of any and all National Practitioner’s Data Bank reports pertaining to the 
applicant;  
5. Official transcripts under seal from a school or university from which the applicant 

received his/her doctorate in dentistry;  
6. National Board scores showing passage of all sections of the examination with a score 
of 75 or higher;  
7. Verification of licensure from all states where the applicant has ever held or currently 

holds a license to practice dentistry; and 
8. Furnish a background check. The applicant shall be responsible for all fees associated 
with the performance of a background check.  
(9) Those applicants who have received a doctoral degree in dentistry from a dental 

school not accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American 
Dental Association, or its successor agency, in addition to the information required in 
subsection (8)(a), (c), (d) and (e) of this rule must also provide the following in order to 
complete their application: 

(a) Successful completion at an accredited dental school approved by the board of the last 
two years of a program leading to the doctor of dental surgery (D.D.S.) or doctor of 
dental medicine (D.M.D.) degree; and 
(b) Certification by the dean of the accredited dental school where such supplementary 

program was taken that the candidate has achieved the same level of didactic and clinical 
competency as expected of a graduate of the school.  
(10) A certification letter from a dental board or regional testing agency of a passing 
score of 75 or higher on  each section of a clinical licensure examination substantially 

equivalent to the clinical licensure examination required in Georgia and which was 
administrated by the dental board or its designated testing agency.  A certification letter 
from the applicants’ dental school is not acceptable.  
(a) Such certification shall state that the examination included procedures performed on 

human subjects as part of the assessment of clinical competencies and shall have included 
evaluations in the following areas: 
1. periodontics, human subject clinical abilities testing;  
2. endodontics, clinical abilities testing; 

3. posterior class II amalgam or posterior class II composite preparation and restoration, 
human subject clinical abilities testing; 
4. anterior class III composite preparation and restoration, human subject clinical abilities 
testing; 

5. crown preparation, clinical abilities testing; 
6. prosthetics, written or clinical abilities testing;  
7. oral diagnosis, written or clinical abilities testing; and 
8. oral surgery, written or clinical abilities testing.  

(b) In addition to the foregoing requirements to be eligible for licensure consideration by 
credentials, a license examination after January 1, 1998 shall include: 
1. anonymity between candidates and examination raters; 



2. standardization and calibration of raters; and 
3. a mechanism for post exam analysis.  
(c) After a fourth failure of one or more sections of any clinical examination, no further 

attempts will be recognized by the board for licensure by credentials in Georgia.  
(d) All applicants must show passage of a jurisprudence examination on the laws and 
rules governing the practice of dentistry in the State of Georgia. Such examinations shall 
be administered in the English language. 

(11) Within the first two (2) years of being granted a provisional license by credentials, 
applicant must establish full-time clinical practice which is defined in subsection (2) of 
this rule or the license will be automatically revoked.  
(12) Active duty military dentists on federal installations are exempt from the state of 

practice requirement as contained in subsection (6) of this rule as long the applicant has 
an active license in an acceptable state and meets all other requirements as set forth in 
this rule. 
(13) Contract employees on Georgia federal installations are exempt from the state of 

practice requirement as contained in subsection (6) of this rule as long the applicant has 
an active license in an acceptable state and meets all other requirements as set forth in 
this rule. 
(14) These exempt applicants must provide a letter from the supervising 

authority/commanding officer at the federal installation. Such letter must include but not 
be limited to the applicants’ general service record, any complaint or disciplinary action 
as well as continuing education the credentialing candidate may have obtained. 
(15) For the first five biennial renewal periods, the holder of a dental provisional license 

by credentials must attest to the fact that he or she has maintained full time clinical 
practice in the State of Georgia as defined in subsection (3) of this rule. 
(16) The Board shall have the authority to refuse to grant a provisional license by 
credentials to an applicant, or to revoke the provisional license by credentials to a dentist 

licensed by the Board, or to discipline a dentist holding a provisional license by 
credentials in accordance with the provisions of O.C.G.A. § 43-11-47. 
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