GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Sedation Committee Meeting September 19, 2014 2 Peachtree St., N.W. 36th Floor Atlanta, GA 30303 9:00 a.m.

The following committee members were present: Staff Present:

Dr. Randy Daniel Eric Lacefield, Deputy Exec Director

Dr. Antwan Treadway

Open Session

Dr. Daniel established that a quorum was present and called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Dr. Antwan Treadway made a motion and Dr. Randy Daniel seconded and the Committee voted to enter into **Executive Session** in accordance with O.C.G.A. §43-1-19(h)(2), §43-11-47(h) and §43-1-2(k) to deliberate and receive information on applications. Voting in favor of the motion were those present who included Dr. Randy Daniel and Dr. Antwan Treadway.

Executive Session

F.E.H.

No votes were taken in Executive Session. Dr. Daniel declared the meeting back in Open Session.

Open Session

Dr. Treadway made a motion that the Committee recommend to the full Board to table F.E.H. pending receipt of additional information. Dr. Daniel seconded and the Committee voted unanimously in favor of the motion.

Correspondence from Dr. David Brantley and Dr. John Spratling

The Committee considered this correspondence regarding utilizing Pediatric Dental Anesthesia Associates (PDAA) for deep sedation cases under IV sedation at Dr. Brantley and Dr. Spratling's office. The Committee stated that the Board did not have the authority to regulate physicians in dental offices. It was suggested by Dr. Daniel that this was an issue for the Committee to look into further and then be discussed by the Board.

Discussion was also held regarding dentist responsibilities for sedation medications and the necessary equipment needed for sedation.

The next scheduled meeting of the Sedation Committee will be held on Friday, November 14, 2014, at 1:30 p.m. at the Department of Community Health's office located at 2 Peachtree Street, N.W., 36th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303.

There being no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 9:28 a.m.

Minutes recorded by Eric Lacefield, Deputy Executive Director Minutes edited by Tanja D. Battle, Executive Director