GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

Conference Call
2 Peachtree St. NW, 6th Floor
Atlanta, GA 30303
July 2, 2018
1:15 p.m.

The following Board members were present:

Dr. Greg Goggans, Vice-President

Ms. Becky Bynum

Dr. Tracy Gay

Dr. Tom Godfrey

Dr. Steve Holcomb

Ms. Wendy Johnson

Dr. Logan Nalley

Dr. Antwan Treadway

Dr. Bert Yeargan

Staff present:

Tanja Battle, Executive Director

Kirsten Daughdril, Sen Asst Attorney General Bryon Thernes, Assistant Attorney General

Kimberly Emm, Attorney

Brandi Howell, Business Support Analyst I

Special Assistant Attorney General:

Michael Caplan, Caplan & Cobb Ben Cheesbro, Caplan & Cobb

Dr. Goggans established that a quorum was present and called the meeting to order at 1:19 p.m.

Dr. Bert Yeargan made a motion and Dr. Logan Nalley seconded and the Board voted to enter into **Executive Session** in accordance with O.C.G.A. §50-14-2 to deliberate and receive the Special Assistant Attorney General's report. Voting in favor of the motion were those present who included Ms. Becky Bynum, Dr. Tracy Gay, Dr. Tom Godfrey, Dr. Greg Goggans, Dr. Steve Holcomb, Ms. Wendy Johnson, Dr. Logan Nalley, Dr. Antwan Treadway and Dr. Bert Yeargan.

Executive Session

Pending litigation

No votes were taken in Executive Session. Dr. Goggans declared the meeting back in Open Session.

Open Session

Dr. Yeargan made a motion to authorize Mr. Michael Caplan, Caplan & Cobb, Special Assistant Attorney General, to negotiate a stay of litigation with Plaintiff's counsel of up to 120 days. Dr. Nalley seconded and the Board voted unanimously in favor of the motion.

In the same motion, the Board voted that pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-14-1(3), the Board declares that special circumstances exist warranting the holding of this meeting on less than 24 hours' notice, those circumstances being legal advice regarding pending litigation.

With no further business, the Board meeting adjourned at 1:39 p.m.

The next scheduled meeting of the Georgia Board of Dentistry will be held on Friday, July 13, 2018, at 10:00 a.m. at the Department of Community Health's office located at 2 Peachtree Street, N.W., 5th Floor, Atlanta, GA 30303.

Minutes recorded by Brandi Howell, Business Support Analyst I

Minutes edited by Tanja D. Battle, Executive Director