APPLICATION FOR VOLUNTEERS IN DENTISTRY/DENTAL HYGIENE

GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY
2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11" Floor
East Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
www.gbd.georgia.gov

Please read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws and rules governing
the practice of dentistry & dental hygiene in the State of Georgia. Visit the following web
site for information: www.gbd.georgia.gov

**Important**
The Board cannot process incomplete applications. If any item is missing,
incomplete or incorrect, your application cannot be reviewed by the Board.

Please review this application before you submit it to ensure that all information
and documentation is complete and correct.

Incomplete applications are maintained in the Board office for a period of one (1)
year. After such time the application is rendered void and the applicant must re-
apply and pay all required fees.

Application Checklist
The following checklist is an important part of your application. Please use this
checklist to ensure that you submit a COMPLETE application.

Please note: There is no fee for this type of license.

1. NOTARIZED APPLICATION: Completed application form. If licensure is granted,
the license will be required to be renewed by the last day of December
in ODD numbered years, regardless of when you were originally licensed. The
licensure process could take up to a minimum of 30 days after submission of a
completed application. Further, all volunteer applications must be considered
by the Board. Plan your application submission accordingly.

2. LICENSE VERIFICATION: Official letter(s) of licensure verification for every
dental license ever held. Each verification must indicate the date of licensure, the
licensure status (active, inactive, expired, revoked, etc.) standing of license, any
disciplinary charges made against you by the licensing board or by any other state
agency, and the result of these actions. The applicant must provide a copy of the
formal complaint/pleading, outcomes, and a personal written explanation for each
instance of discipline. You should call each state board about fees for these
services. The verification(s) must be submitted with your application IN THE
ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE FROM THE BOARD OF EACH LICENSING
STATE, or sent via email directly from each licensing state to
dentistry@dch.ga.gov. The verification must be dated within four months of the
Board’s receipt of your complete application packet.

3. NATIONAL PRACTITIONER DATA BANK: To obtain a self-query from the
NPDB-HIPDB, please visit www.npdb.hrsa.gov or call the Customer Service
Center at 1-800-767-6732.



http://www.gbd.georgia.gov/
http://www.gbd.georgia.gov/
mailto:dentistry@dch.ga.gov
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If the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) report provides any disciplinary
action, certified copies of any pending or final disciplinary actions or malpractice
actions against applicant must be submitted. All applicants must submit a NPDB
report along with the completed application. The NPDB report must be dated
within four months of the submission of the application. The ONLY applicants
exempt from the requirement of NPDB report submission are those applicants
within 6 months of dental school graduation and have never been issued a dental
license in any state or U.S. territory.

The NPDB report must be received in the ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE
FROM NPDB. Applicants who have disciplinary or malpractice case(s) (open &
closed) will be considered for licensure on a case- by-case basis, after receipt of
all required application materials. For each case, the applicant must submit:

1) A copy of the formal complaint pleadings filed by the plaintiff/complainant or
State Regulatory Agency,

2) A copy of the final action, disposition, or settlement,

3) A personal explanation of the disciplinary action or the malpractice claim, and
4) Any further information requested by the Board in separate communications.

COPY OF COURT DOCUMENT OR AFFIDAVIT explaining any discrepancies of
the applicant’s name if documents submitted bear different name(s).[i.e. marriage
certificate, divorce decree, legal name change].

CPR: Submit a photocopy of your current CPR certification in compliance with
Board Rule 150-3-.08 (Dentists) or Board Rule 150-5-.04 (Dental Hygienists).

VERIFICATION FROM SPONSORING AGENCY that compensation is not being
made by professional services provided.

PHYSICIAN’S STATEMENT OF MENTAL AND PHYSICAL COMPETENCY
verifying that the applicant is able to practice dentistry with reasonable skill and
safety to patient.

JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION: The examination must be downloaded from
the Board’s website by going to https://gbd.georgia.gov/applications-and-forms.
Successful completion of the Jurisprudence Examination with a score of 75 or
higher is required. The Jurisprudence Examination may be taken as an open
book exam. You may refer to the Board’s law and rules governing the practice of
dentistry/dental hygiene in Georgia located on the Board’s website at
https://gbd.georgia.gov/laws-policies-rules to assist you with the examination.
Score is only valid for one (1) year.

CONTINUING EDUCATION: If the applicant is not in compliance with the
continuing education requirements established by the Board at the time
application is made for the volunteer license (forty (40) hours for dentist and
twenty-two (22) hours for dental hygienist of continuing education within the last
two (2) years including CPR at the basic life support level), the applicant may be
issued a nonrenewable temporary license to practice for six months provided the
applicant is otherwise qualified for such license.


https://gbd.georgia.gov/applications-and-forms
https://gbd.georgia.gov/laws-policies-rules

10. EXPEDITED APPLICATION REVIEW: Military spouses, service members, and
transitioning service members qualify for expedited application review and should
review Board Rule 150-7-.06 for details.
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Georgia Board of Dentistry ——————
2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11" Floor Receinth | this Seetion:
East Tower Amount:
Atlanta, GA 30334 Applicant#:
Initials/Date:
(404) 651-8000 www.ghd.georgia.gov

APPLICATION FOR VOLUNTEER IN DENTISTRY & DENTAL HYGIENE
Application Fee $0

I am a military spouse, service member, or transitioning service member, and | am requesting
expedited application review. | understand that | may be required to submit a copy of my PCS orders,
a copy of my spouse’s PCS orders and my marriage certificate, or other documentation as requested
by the Board. Yes No

License Type: Volunteer Dentist
Volunteer Dental Hygienist

Name as desired on License

First Middle Last

Name as shown on exam records or transcripts
(if different)

First Middle Last

Social Security Number * Date of Birth

____lamaU.S. citizen

____lam not a U.S. citizen but am a qualified alien under the federal Immigration and
Naturalization Act, and | am lawfully present in the United States. *Submit attached checklist

form with documentation.

Physical Address

Number and Street Apt. No City/State Zip
P.O. Box not acceptable

Mailing Address
(if different) Number and Street Apt. No City/State Zip

Telephone Number Day Telephone Number Evening

Email Address

*This information is authorized to be obtained and disclosed to state and federal agencies pursuant to
0O.C.G.A. 819-11-1 and O.C.G.A. §20-3-295, 42 U.S.C.A. 8551 and 20 U.S.C.A. 81001. It may also be disclosed to
the National Practitioner’s Databank (NPDB) and the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) or
other licensing boards, or other regulatory agencies for license tracking purposes.
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Georgia Volunteers in Dentistry/Dental Hygiene
License Application
Part |

1. Dental/Dental Hygiene Education /
School Month/Year Graduation

Address City State Zip

2. Dental/Dental Hygiene Post-Graduate Education (if applicable)

Type of Training

3. Employing Agency, Institution, Corporation, or Association

**A notarized statement from the Director of the Department must be submitted to the Board**

Part Il

4. Have you ever held a license to practice dentistry/dental hygiene in any state(s)? List all
states which you have been issued a license to practice dentistry/dental hygiene: (active,
inactive, revoked, suspended, expired, lapsed, etc.) You should have each state listed
send an official letter of licensure verification/certification. See instruction sheet for

details. O Yes O No
If so, has it been within the past five (5) years? O Yes [0 No

STATE DATE OF LICENSURE LICENSE STATUS

If licensed in the State of Georgia please list your dental license number:
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5. FOR DENTISTS, | have obtained 40 hours of continuing education. O Yes O No

If no, a non-renewable temporary license to practice for six months may be issued,
provided you are otherwise qualified for such license. During such time
you must comply with the CE requirements set forth in Rule 150-3-.09 and submit

documentation of compliance.

6. FOR DENTAL HYGIENISTS, | have obtained 22 hours of continuing education.
0 Yes O No

If no, a non-renewable temporary license to practice for six months may be issued,
provided you are otherwise qualified for such license. During such time
you must comply with the CE requirements set forth in Rule 150-5-.05 and submit

documentation of compliance.

7. | have current certification in CPR through a Board approved provider.
O Yes O No (Please enclose copy)

8. Board Disciplinary Actions/Legal Convictions: (Answer BOTH Questions):

A. Has any license issued to you ever been encumbered by any board or agency in
Georgia or any other state? (Denied renewal or reinstatement, revoked, suspended,
surrendered, restricted, placed on probation, etc.) [ Yes O No

Please explain a “yes” response and request the agency or state board send a
certified copy of the Hearing Notice (if applicable) and Final Order to this office.
Additionally, you must provide the Georgia Board of Dentistry with the name of
the agency or board in the space provided.

(Name of Agency or Board)

B. Have you been arrested, indicted, convicted, sentenced, pled guilty to, plead nolo
contender, or given first offender status for the commission of a felony, misdemeanor,
or any offense other than a minor traffic violation? (DWI & DUI are not considered by
the Georgia Board of Dentistry to be a minor traffic violation.) 0 Yes [ No

Please explain a “yes” response and request the court to send a certified copy
of the record to this office, including the final disposition of the case(s).

(Name of Court or County where violation occurred)

9. The Georgia Board of Dentistry requires all candidates for licensure to query the National
Practitioners Data Bank before licensure will be granted. You may receive the form by
downloading at: www.npdb.hrsa.gov or by calling 1-800-767-6732 from 8:30 a.m. to

6:00 p.m.

National Practitioners Data Bank
P.O. Box 10832
Chantilly, VA 22021

10. Have you within the past five (5) years personally used narcotics or alcohol excessively

or have you ever received treatment for addiction to alcohol or other drugs?
O Yes O No |Ifyes,attach an explanation.
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http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/

11. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a dental license, or DEA registration
OO Yes O No Ifyes, attach an explanation.

12. Are there any other facts not disclosed by your answers which may have a bearing on
your fitness or eligibility to practice dentistry in Georgia and which should be placed at the

disposal or brought to the attention of the State Board of Dentistry?
O Yes 0O No Ifyes, attach an explanation.

13. Do you presently have any contagious or infectious disease? [0 Yes [ No
If yes, attach an explanation.

14. Photograph:

Provide one 2 X 2 head or shoulder passport-type photograph taken within the last six
(6) months. Sign the front of the photograph.

ATTACH PHOTO HERE
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AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION

| hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of
my knowledge and belief. | further swear and affirm that | have read and understand the current state laws
and rules and regulations of the Georgia Board of Dentistry, and | agree to abide by these laws and rules,
as amended from time to time.

By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, | hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be
true and accurate pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1:

1) I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. Please submit a copy of your current
Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or other document as
indicated on page of the application.

2) | am not a United States citizen, but | am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18
years of age or older, or | am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and
Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an alien number issued by the Department of Homeland
Security or other federal immigration agency. Please submit a copy of your current immigration
document(s) which includes either your Alien number or your 1-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS
number.

In making the above attestation, | understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may
result in disciplinary action by the Georgia Board of Dentistry and/or criminal prosecution.

Signature of applicant

The facts set forth in this application are true and complete to the best of my knowledge. | understand
false statements on this application may be considered sufficient cause for denial of licensure and/or
authorization. The Georgia Board of Dentistry is hereby authorized to request any information necessary
to process my application.

Applicant Signature Date
County State
Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of , 20

Notary Public

My Commission Expires:
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GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY
2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11" Floor
East Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30334

CONSENT FORM

| hereby authorize the Georgia Board of Dentistry (“Board”) to receive any Georgia criminal
history record information pertaining to me which may be in the files of any state or local
criminal justice agency in Georgia.

Full Name (Print)

Physical Address (P.O. Boxes NOT Accepted)

City, State, Zip

Sex Race Date of Birth Social Security Number

One of the following must be checked:
D This authorization is valid for 90/180/___ (circle one) days from date of signature.

[, give consent to the Board to perform
periodic criminal history background checks for the duration of my licensure with this state.

Signature of Applicant Date
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APPLICANT: PLEASE CHECK THE FORM OF IDENTIFICATION BELOW THAT
YOU POSSESS. RETURN THIS FORM ALONG WITH A COPY OF YOUR
APPROPRIATE DOCUMENTATION.

Name

Secure and Verifiable Documents Under O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2
Issued February 20, 2018, by the Office of the Attorney General, Georgia

The Illegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 (“IIREA”), as amended by Senate
Bill 160, signed into law as Act No. 27, (2013), provides that “[n]ot later than August 1, 2011, the
Attorney General shall provide and make public on the Department of Law’s website a list of
acceptable secure and verifiable documents. The list shall be reviewed and updated annually by
the Attorney General.” O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(g). The Attorney General may modify this list on a
more frequent basis, if necessary.

The following list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of O.C.G.A. §
50-36-2, contains documents that are verifiable for identification purposes, and documents on this
list may not necessarily be indicative of residency or immigration status.

An unexpired United States passport or passport card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR §
274a.2]

An unexpired United States military identification card [O.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 8
CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired driver’s license issued by one of the United States, the District of
Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the
Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or the
Swain Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient
identifying information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender,
height, eye color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer [0.C.G.A. §
50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]*

An unexpired identification card issued by one of the United States, the District of
Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the
Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or the
Swain Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient
identifying information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height,
eye color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer [0.C.G.A. § 50-36-
2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

! For identification presented to poll workers when voting, a registered Georgia voter may
present an expired Georgia driver’s license as proof of identification when voting pursuant to
O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417.
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An unexpired tribal identification card of a federally recognized Native American tribe,
provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying
information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color,
and address to enable the identification of the bearer. A listing of federally recognized
Native American tribes may be accessed at: https://www.bia.gov/tribal-leaders-directory
[O.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired United States Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card
[O.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired Employment Authorization Document that contains a photograph of the
bearer [0.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired passport issued by a foreign government, provided that such passport is
accompanied by a United States Department of Homeland Security (“DHS”) Form 1-94,
DHS Form 1-94A, DHS Form 1-94W, or other federal form specifying an individual’s
lawful immigration status or other proof of lawful presence under federal immigration

law? [0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired Merchant Mariner Document or Merchant Mariner Credential issued by the
United States Coast Guard [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired Free and Secure Trade (FAST) card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR §
41.2]

An unexpired NEXUS card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2]

An unexpired Secure Electronic Network for Travelers Rapid Inspection (SENTRI) card
[O.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2]

An unexpired driver’s license issued by a Canadian government authority [O.C.G.A.
§ 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

A Certificate of Citizenship issued by the United States Department of Citizenship and
Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-560 or Form N-561) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3);
6 CFR § 37.11]

2 Senate Bill 160 (Act No. 27), effective July 1, 2013, limited the use of passports issued by
foreign nations to satisfy the requirements for submission of secure and verifiable documents to
only those passports submitted in conjunction with a United States Department of Homeland
Security (“DHS”) Form 1-94, DHS Form 1-94A, DHS Form 1-94W, or other federal form
specifying an individual’s lawful immigration status or other proof of lawful presence under
federal immigration law.
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A Certificate of Naturalization issued by the United States Department of Citizenship and
Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-550 or Form N-570) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3);
6 CFR § 37.11]

Certification of Report of Birth issued by the United States Department of State (Form
DS-1350) [0.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

Certification of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State (Form FS-
545) [0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR 8§ 37.11]

Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State (Form
FS-240) [O0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a State, county, municipal
authority, or territory of the United States bearing an official seal [O.C.G.A § 50-36-
2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

When applying for any public benefit with the Department of Driver Services, an
applicant may submit either an expired or unexpired document that is listed above as a
secure and verifiable document. [O.C.G.A. 88 50-36-1(g) & 50-36-2(b)(3)]

When applying for a voter identification card pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417.1, an
individual may submit the aggregate forms of identification authorized by O.C.G.A.
§ 21-2-417.1(e).

In addition to the documents listed herein, if, in administering a public benefit or program,
an agency is required by federal law to accept a document or other form of identification
for proof of or documentation of identity, that document or other form of identification
will be deemed a secure and verifiable document solely for that particular program or
administration of that particular public benefit. [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(c)]



