APPLICATION FOR DENTAL REINSTATEMENT

GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11th Floor East Tower Atlanta, Georgia 30334 www.gbd.georgia.gov

Please read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws and rules governing the practice of dentistry in the State of Georgia. Visit the board's web site for information: <u>www.gbd.georgia.gov</u>

Important

The Board cannot process incomplete applications. If any item is missing, incomplete or incorrect, your application cannot be reviewed by the Board.

Please review this application before you submit it to ensure that all information and documentation is complete and correct.

Incomplete applications result in delayed processing and are void after one year.

NOTE – IF YOU ARE PRACTICING IN GEORGIA & YOUR LICENSE HAS EXPIRED – YOU CANNOT CONTINUE TO PRACTICE UNTIL YOUR LICENSE HAS BEEN REINSTATED – <u>YOU MUST IMMEDIATELY CEASE & DESIST PRACTICE</u>.

Application Checklist

The following checklist is an important part of your application. Please use this checklist to ensure that you submit a COMPLETE application.

The \$1675 non-refundable application fee payable by check or money order to the Georgia Board of Dentistry must be included with your application. Checks returned for insufficient funds will be assessed a service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 16-9-20.

- 1. **NOTARIZED APPLICATION:** Completed application form accompanied by the appropriate fee. Your application will not be processed unless the fee and all supporting documents are received. If reinstatement is granted, the licensee will be required to renew by the last day of December in ODD numbered years, regardless of when you were reinstated. The licensure process could take up to a minimum of <u>30 days</u> after submission of a completed application. Further, all reinstatement applications must be considered by the Board. Plan your application submission accordingly.
- 2. LICENSE VERIFICATION: Official license verification for every dental/dental hygiene license ever held. Each verification must indicate the date of licensure, the licensure status (active, inactive, expired, revoked, etc.) standing of license, any disciplinary charges made against you by the licensing board and the result of these actions. The applicant must provide a copy of the formal complaint/pleading, outcomes, and a personal written explanation for each instance of discipline. You should call each state board about fees for these services. The verification(s) must be submitted with your application IN THE ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE FROM THE BOARD OF EACH LICENSING STATE, or sent via email directly from each licensing

state to <u>dentistry@dch.ga.gov</u>. The verification must be dated within four months of the Board's receipt of your complete application packet.

- 3. **JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION:** A copy of the exam is included in the application packet. Successful completion of the Jurisprudence Examination with a score of 75 or higher is required. The Jurisprudence Examination may be taken as an open book exam. You may refer to the Board's law and rules governing the practice of dentistry in Georgia located on the Board's website at https://gbd.georgia.gov/laws-policies-rules to assist you with the examination. Score is only valid for one (1) year.
- 4. **NATIONAL PRACTITIONER DATA BANK:** To obtain a self-query from the NPDB-HIPDB, please visit <u>www.npdb.hrsa.gov</u> or call the Customer Service Center at 1-800-767-6732.

If the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) provides any disciplinary action, certified copies of any pending or final disciplinary actions or malpractice actions against applicant must be submitted. All applicants must submit a NPDB report along with the completed application. The NPDB report must be dated within four months of the submission of the application. The ONLY applicants exempt from the requirement of NPDB report submission are those applicants within 6 months of dental school graduation and who have never been issued a dental license in any state or U.S. territory.

The NPDB report must be received in the ORIGINAL SEALED

<u>ENVELOPE FROM NPDB.</u> Applicants who have disciplinary or malpractice case(s) (open & closed) will be considered for licensure on a case- by-case basis, after receipt of all required application materials. For each case, the applicant must submit:

- 1) a copy of the formal complaint pleadings filed by the plaintiff/complainant or State Regulatory Agency,
- 2) a copy of the final action, disposition, or settlement,
- 3) a personal explanation of the disciplinary action or the malpractice claim, and
- 4) any further information requested by the Board in separate communications.
- 5. **CPR:** Submit a photocopy of your current CPR certification in compliance with **Board Rule 150-3-.08**.
- 6. **RESUME OR CURRICULUM VITAE:** List chronologically all employment, hospital privileges, specialty training and all other experience in the practice of dentistry. Include names, beginning and ending dates, and locations, where applicable. Explain any intervals where you were not in training or practicing dentistry.
- 7. FOUR (4) REFERENCES (form attached): The reference forms must be mailed in with the application IN THE ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE FROM THE REFERENCE.

- 8. **CONTINUING EDUCATION:** All licensees are required to have continuing education credits in order to maintain a license in the State of Georgia.
 - <u>Dentists</u> must submit proof of 40 hours of Board approved continuing education obtained within the last two (2) years from the date of submission of application for Board approval. (<u>Submit</u> <u>photocopies only-</u> original certificates will not be returned)

<u>Note:</u> An additional 40 hours for dentists must be obtained for the upcoming renewal period. The hours submitted for reinstatement of a license cannot be used to fulfill the requirements for an upcoming license renewal period.

- 9. **MALPRACTICE QUESTIONNAIRE:** Be sure to complete one for each suit and attach the necessary documentation. (If not applicable, write N/A on the form sign, date, and return with application).
- 10. **EXPEDITED APPLICATION REVIEW:** Military spouses, service members, and transitioning service members qualify for expedited application review and should review Board Rule 150-7-.06 for details.

RELOCATION: If you relocate during the time that your application is being processed, you **must** notify the Board of your new address in writing by fax to (470) 386-6124 or mail. This will enable you to receive Board correspondence.

Reminder: It is against the law to practice dentistry with a lapsed/expired license. An individual who continues to practice with a lapsed/expired license is subject to a fine and disciplinary action.

In accordance with Rule 150-3-.05, as a condition precedent to reinstatement after five (5) years have passed without the applicant being actively engaged in the practice of dentistry or dental hygiene, the Board may, in its discretion, require passage of an examination administered by the Georgia Board of Dentistry or a Regional Testing Agency designated and approved by the Board. In addition, the Board may require documentation from a physician or physicians licensed in the State of Georgia that establishes to the satisfaction of the Board that the applicant is able to practice with reasonable skill and safety to patients.

NOTE – IF YOU ARE PRACTICING IN GEORGIA & YOUR LICENSE HAS EXPIRED – YOU CANNOT CONTINUE TO PRACTICE UNTIL YOUR LICENSE HAS BEEN REINSTATED – <u>YOU MUST IMMEDIATELY CEASE &</u> <u>DESIST PRACTICE</u>.

Reinstatement Policy

For any reinstatement application citing problems, (not having CE during last biennial renewal period, convictions, disciplinary action in other states, impairment, etc.) the licensee will be scheduled to a meeting with the Licensure Overview Committee and the following guidelines may apply:

No Clinical Practice	Reassessment of Skills (1 week)	Remediation and Reassessment of Skills	Letter of Competency	Board- Approved Exam
3 – <5 yrs	X		X	
5 yrs - <10 yrs	X	X	X	X
10 yrs - +		X	X	X

For licensees that state that they **have not been practicing** without a license since the date that the license lapsed are reinstated without a consent order. However, the following guidelines may apply:

No Clinical Practice	Reassessment of Skills (1 week)	Remediation and Reassessment of Skills	Letter of Competency	Board- Approved Exam
3 – <5 yrs	X		X	
5 yrs - <10 yrs	X	X	X	X
10 yrs - +		X	X	X

For licensees that state that they **have been practicing** without a license since the date that the license lapsed are reinstated and the matter is referred to Legal Services to send a public consent order citing the dates of the unlicensed practice with a \$1,000 fine (\$500 for dental hygienists) to be paid within 120 days of the effective date of the order, 3 years' probation, completion the Law Ethics and Professionalism (LEAP) course within one year of the effective date of the order, 4 hours CE in Risk Management within one year of the effective date. A letter of concern is to be mailed to all employers of hygienists with a lapsed license concerning aiding and abetting unlicensed practice.

The board also allows reinstatement consent orders that have been signed by the licensee and returned to the board office to be accepted upon receipt, with the Executive Director signing for the Board President.

If reinstatement is granted, the license will be required to be renewed by the last day of December in ODD numbered years, regardless of when the license is reinstated.

The implications of a licensee practicing without a license are far-reaching. Employees/associates working with an unlicensed person could be subject to disciplinary action for aiding & abetting unlicensed practice; Medicaid & Medicare charges during the unlicensed period may be subject to denial or reimbursement; malpractice providers may not cover the individual during the unlicensed period.

All reinstatement applications must be reviewed and approved by the Board.



1.

Georgia Board of Dentistry

2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11th Floor East Tower Atlanta, GA 30334

Receipt#: _____

Amount: _____

Applicant#: _____

Initials/Date: _____

(404) 651-8000 www.gbd.georgia.gov

APPLICATION FOR DENTAL REINSTATEMENT Application Fee \$1675 Dentist (non-refundable)

I am a military spouse, service member, or transitioning service member, and I am requesting expedited application review. I understand that I may be required to submit a copy of my PCS orders, a copy of my spouse's PCS orders and my marriage certificate, or other documentation as requested by the Board. Yes No

Name as desired on License

First Middle			Last		
Name as shown	on exam recor	ds or transcripts	s (if different)		
First		Middle		Last	
Social Security	Number	Date of B	irth e-m	ail address	
Physical Addre	SS				
		nd Street <i>ot acceptable</i>	Apt. No	City/State	Zip
Mailing Addres (if different)	s	0			 :
(if different)	Number and	Street	Apt. No	City/State	Zip
Telephone Num	ber Day	Telephone	e Number Eveni	ng	
LAPSED/EXPIR	ED LICENSE I	NUMBER:		-	
Date last rene	ewed:	State reaso	n license not ren	ewed:	

2. Have you practiced as a dentist in the State of Georgia since your license expired? _____YES _____NO ***NOTE – IF YOU ARE PRACTING IN GEORGIA & YOUR LICENSE HAS EXPIRED – YOU CANNOT CONTINUE TO PRACTICE UNTIL YOUR LICENSE HAS BEEN REINSTATED – YOU MUST IMMEDIATELY CEASE & DESIST PRACTICE.***

3. If you are now or have ever been licensed to practice dentistry in another state or country, you are required to complete the following information in chronological order:

	State/Country	Date of Licensure	License EXAM		by ECIP.	Status of L (current, inac	
4.	If you are a dentist, are			 ?t	YES		
5.	Do you intend to practic If yes, in what specialty	e dentistry in Geor	gia?YES _				
6.	Have you served in the If so, list dates Type of discharge details.					è	
	If you answer "YES" to complete details, inclu	•	• •	•	•		
7.	Have you ever been tre abuse?	ated or hospitalize	d for drug or alco	ohol	YES □		NO □
8.	Have you ever been convicted of a violation of any Federal, State or Local Statute?						
9.	•	Have you ever been denied the privilege of taking an examination given by any state board or been denied a certificate of license?					
10.	Has any state licensing certificate/license, or tal						
11.	. Have you ever had your hospital privileges limited, denied or revoked?						
12.	Have you ever been denied a DEA registration number or been issued a restricted DEA registration? If currently registered, give number and state of issue. NumberState						
13.	Have you ever had any	malpractice suits f	iled against you?)			
14.	Have you ever been de or society, or specialty s	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	n any dental ass	ociation			

15.	Have you ever resigned from a hospital staff after a complaint or peer review action has been initiated against you?	
16.	Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a dental license, a controlled substances registration or DEA registration?	
17.	To your knowledge, are you the subject of an investigation by any licensing board or hospital as of the date of this application?	

- 18. Attach a complete resume of all of your dental activities, including your present position and specialty.
- 19. Attach documentation supporting mandatory continuing education credits.
- 20. Attach a copy of current CPR certification.
- 21. References: Listed below are four references whom I have supplied with the proper form that was included in my application packet.

I understand that it is <u>my responsibility</u> to see that these <u>forms are returned</u>. I certify these references are not related to me, nor are they connected with any dental college I attended.

Name
Address
City, State, Zip
,
Name
Name
Addross
Address
City, State, Zip
Name
Address
City, State, Zip
Name
Address
City, State, Zip

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION

I acknowledge and state that I have read the Application Instructions that accompanied this application and I have answered all questions in compliance with these instructions. I acknowledge that it is my responsibility to read and become familiar with the Dental Practice Act and the Board Rules.

I further state that by submitting this application for a license to practice dentistry/dental hygiene in the State of Georgia, I hereby authorize and consent to have an investigation made as to the moral character, professional reputation and fitness for the practice of dentistry/ dental hygiene. I agree to give any further information in which may be required in reference to my past record. I understand that I will not receive a copy of the report or know its contents and I further understand that the contents of the investigative report will be privileged unless determined otherwise by the Board or Court Order.

I hereby authorize the Georgia Board of Dentistry to receive any criminal history record pertaining to me, which may be in the files of any state or local criminal justice agency in Georgia or any other State or Territory. I authorize and request every person, hospital, clinic, community, governmental agency (local, state, federal or foreign), court, association, institution, or other organization having control of any documents, records and other information pertaining to me, to furnish to the Georgia Board of Dentistry any information, including documents, records, regarding charges or complaints filed against me, formal or informal, pending or closed, or any other pertinent data and to permit the Georgia Board of Dentistry or any of its agents or representatives to inspect and make copies of such documents, records and other information, in connection with this application, subsequent licensure or practice thereunder.

I hereby release, discharge and exonerate the Georgia Board of Dentistry, its agents or representatives, and any person so furnishing information, from any and all liability of every nature and kind arising out of the furnishing or inspection of such documents, records or other information or the investigation made by the Georgia Board of Dentistry. I authorize the Georgia Board of Dentistry to release information, material, documents, orders or the like relating to me or to this application to any other State or Territory of the United States or Province of Canada, a law enforcement agency, a hospital or other appropriate agencies as determined by the Board.

I, the undersigned, do hereby affirm under penalty of perjury that all statements made and information contained in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. Further, I consent to a thorough investigation of my employment record and other information that may be necessary to verify my qualifications to practice. I understand that any final disciplinary action that may ever be taken against my license, if it is granted, would be provided to a national disciplinary reporting system and that my Social Security number would be a part of that report.

By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, I hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and accurate pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1:

1) _____I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. Please submit a copy of your current Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver's license, passport, or other document as indicated on pages 16 & 17 of this application.

2) _____I am not a United States citizen, but I am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 years of age or older, or I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. Please submit a copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or your I-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS number.

In making the above attestation, I understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result in disciplinary action by the Georgia Board of Dentistry and/or criminal prosecution.

SIGNATURE PAGE FOR AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION

This is to certify that the foregoing information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

Signature of Applicant		
Date	Plea	(PHOTOGRAPH) ase attach recent photograph
(Print Name Above)		
CountyS	tate	
being duly sworn, says that he/she is the license to practice dentistry/dental hygie statements herein contained are true in e photo of the applicant.	ne in the State	of Georgia; and that all the
	Notary Public	<u>Notary:</u> Do not notarize this section unless photograph is attached.
Sworn to and subscribed before me this	day of _	,,
(SEAL) My Commission Expires		_

STATE LICENSURE CERTIFICATION

TO THE APPLICANT: Please complete the top section of this form and mail to each state in which you are now or have been licensed to practice dentistry/dental hygiene. This form may be reproduced as necessary. **Note:** A license verification as described in the above instructions (under Application Checklist) may be submitted in lieu of this form.

TO: _____ Board of Dentistry

I am applying for licensure and the Georgia Board requires that your Board complete this form in order for my application for licensure to be considered. By signing this form, I am giving my consent to the release of any information, favorable or otherwise, for review by the Georgia Board in its consideration of me for licensure.

My license number	was issued by your Board on	on
the basis of () State Board Exam, () Reciprocity/Endorsement, () National Board,
() Credentials, () Other		

Applicant's Full Name (print or type) Address

Signature	City	State	Zip

This section to be completed by an official of the above referenced licensing board.

Please return this form directly to the applicant in a sealed envelope.

Dental/Dental Hygiene license number ______ to practice dentistry/dental

hygiene in the State of ______ was issued on _____ day

_____, _____.

Is license current and in good standing? () Yes () No*

Has any disciplinary action ever been taken against this license? () Yes* () No

*Please provide complete details, including copies of any documents.

Signature

Date

Title

(BOARD SEAL)

Licensing Board

GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11th Floor East Tower Atlanta, Georgia 30334

CONSENT FORM

I hereby authorize the Georgia Board of Dentistry ("Board") to receive any Georgia criminal history record information pertaining to me which may be in the files of any state or local criminal justice agency in Georgia.

Full Name	e (Print)		
Physical A	Address (P.O. Boxe	s <u>NOT</u> Accepted)	
City, State	e, Zip		
Sex	Race	Date of Birth	Social Security Number
	e following must b authorization is val		e) days from date of signature.
-	orm periodic crimin this state.		give consent to the Board to s for the duration of my licensure
Signature	of Applicant		Date

GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11th Floor East Tower Atlanta, Georgia 30334

REINSTATEMENT REFERENCE FORM

(You may duplicate this form)

Signature

NAME OF APPLICANT: _____

TO REFERENCE SOURCE: Please complete this form, sign it, and send it to the applicant in a **sealed envelope**. Your response is treated confidentially, pursuant to Georgia law. All applicants are required to sign a general release which is on file at the Board office. Please answer all questions.

FRO	M:			
	Full Name Phone Number including Area Code			
Addr	ess			
City		State Zip Code		
	1.	How long have you known the applicant?years		
	2.	In what capacity have you known him/her?		
	0		YES	NO
	3.	Have you ever received reports of poor dental/dental hygiene practice by this dentist/dental hygienist OR have you discussed concerns you had about his/her practice?		
	4.	Are you aware of any derogatory information about this person with respect to his/her ability to practice dentistry/dental hygiene?		
	5.	Does he/she enjoy professional respect among his/her colleagues and in the community where he/she practices?		
	6.	Are you aware of any lawsuits having to do with dental/dental hygiene practice that this dentist/dental hygienist has either lost or settled out of court?		
COM	IME	NTS:		

Date

Title

MALPRACTICE QUESTIONNAIRE

Business Telephone

Name of Dentist/Dental Hygienist

Address	City, State, Zip
MALPRACTICE CHARGES/ALLEGATIONS of occurrence and location (include address).	: Include name of patient, age, sex, date
List names of other dentists and/or physicians	
DISPOSITION: Pending Settled If Settlement Date	settled, provide the following information:
Settlement Date Total Settlement Amount	
Amount Attributable to you:	□ In Court □ Out of Court
The Board requires that you furnish document from the insurance company or attorney to the documentation should include plaintiff's comp court order.	e above address. Such
Signature	Date

COMPLETE ONE QUESTIONNAIRE ON EACH MALPRACTICE SUIT YOU MAY DUPLICATE THIS FORM.

If not, applicable, please write (N/A), sign and return with completed application.

APPLICANT: PLEASE CHECK THE FORM OF IDENTIFICATION BELOW THAT YOU POSSESS. RETURN THIS FORM ALONG WITH A COPY OF YOUR APPROPRIATE DOCUMENTATION.

Name

Secure and Verifiable Documents Under O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2

Issued February 20, 2018, by the Office of the Attorney General, Georgia

The Illegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 ("IIREA"), as amended by Senate Bill 160, signed into law as Act No. 27, (2013), provides that "[n]ot later than August 1, 2011, the Attorney General shall provide and make public on the Department of Law's website a list of acceptable secure and verifiable documents. The list shall be reviewed and updated annually by the Attorney General." O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(g). The Attorney General may modify this list on a more frequent basis, if necessary.

The following list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2, contains documents that are verifiable for identification purposes, and documents on this list may not necessarily be indicative of residency or immigration status.

- An unexpired United States passport or passport card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]
- An unexpired United States military identification card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]
- An unexpired driver's license issued by one of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or the Swain Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]¹
- An unexpired identification card issued by one of the United States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or the Swain Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

¹ For identification presented to poll workers when voting, a registered Georgia voter may present an expired Georgia driver's license as proof of identification when voting pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417.

- An unexpired tribal identification card of a federally recognized Native American tribe, provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer. A listing of federally recognized Native American tribes may be accessed at: <u>https://www.bia.gov/tribal-leaders-directory</u> [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]
- An unexpired United States Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]
- An unexpired Employment Authorization Document that contains a photograph of the bearer [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]
- An unexpired passport issued by a foreign government, provided that such passport is accompanied by a United States Department of Homeland Security ("DHS") Form I-94, DHS Form I-94A, DHS Form I-94W, or other federal form specifying an individual's lawful immigration status or other proof of lawful presence under federal immigration law² [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]
- An unexpired Merchant Mariner Document or Merchant Mariner Credential issued by the United States Coast Guard [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]
- An unexpired Free and Secure Trade (FAST) card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2]
- An unexpired NEXUS card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2]
- An unexpired Secure Electronic Network for Travelers Rapid Inspection (SENTRI) card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2]
- An unexpired driver's license issued by a Canadian government authority [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]
- A Certificate of Citizenship issued by the United States Department of Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-560 or Form N-561) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

² Senate Bill 160 (Act No. 27), effective July 1, 2013, limited the use of passports issued by foreign nations to satisfy the requirements for submission of secure and verifiable documents to only those passports submitted in conjunction with a United States Department of Homeland Security ("DHS") Form I-94, DHS Form I-94A, DHS Form I-94W, or other federal form specifying an individual's lawful immigration status or other proof of lawful presence under federal immigration law.

- A Certificate of Naturalization issued by the United States Department of Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-550 or Form N-570) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]
- Certification of Report of Birth issued by the United States Department of State (Form DS-1350) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]
- Certification of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State (Form FS-545) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State (Form FS-240) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]
- An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a State, county, municipal authority, or territory of the United States bearing an official seal [O.C.G.A § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]
- When applying for any public benefit with the Department of Driver Services, an applicant may submit either an expired or unexpired document that is listed above as a secure and verifiable document. [O.C.G.A. §§ 50-36-1(g) & 50-36-2(b)(3)]
- When applying for a voter identification card pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417.1, an individual may submit the aggregate forms of identification authorized by O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417.1(e).
- In addition to the documents listed herein, if, in administering a public benefit or program, an agency is required by federal law to accept a document or other form of identification for proof of or documentation of identity, that document or other form of identification will be deemed a secure and verifiable document solely for that particular program or administration of that particular public benefit. [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(c)]

Affidavit Regarding Citizenship

Please submit this document along with a copy of your secure & verifiable document to the Board office as indicated on the application.

Print Name: _____ License Number: _____

APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT:

I hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. I further swear and affirm that I have read and understand the current state laws and rules and regulations of the Board for which I am applying for licensure and I agree to abide by these laws and rules, as amended from time to time.

By signing this application, I hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and accurate pursuant to O.C.G.A. §50-36-1 (check one):

1)_____ I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. Please submit a copy of your current Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver's license, passport, or document as indicated on the Board's website.

2) _____ I am not a United States citizen, but I am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 years of age or older, or I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. Please submit a copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or your I-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS number.

In making the above attestation, I understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result in disciplinary action by the Board for which I am applying for licensure and/or criminal prosecution.

Signature of Applicant

Date

Personally appeared before me, the undersigned official authorized to administer oaths, comes

who deposes and swears that he/she is the person who (Applicant's Printed Name)

executed this affidavit for a professional license application in the State of Georgia; and that all of

the statements herein contained are true to the best of his/her knowledge and belief.

Sworn to and subscribed before me this _____day of ______, 20____,

NOTARY PUBLIC

My Commission Expires:_____

(Notary Seal)

GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11th Floor East Tower Atlanta, Georgia 30334

CANDIDATES MUST SUBMIT A COMPLETED JURISPRUDENCE EXAM ALONG WITH A COMPLETE APPLICATION WITH NECESSARY SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS IN ORDER TO HAVE A COMPLETED APPLICATION.

Name 🔄	
Address	

Social Security Number

Date_____

JURISPRUDENCE DENTAL EXAMINATION

Place your answer on the line to the left of each question.

Choose the best answer for each question:

- 1. A patient has been terminated from a practice. In order for the dentist not to be accused of patient abandonment, a location for emergency care must be provided for at least how many days?
 - A. 14 B. 30 C. 45 D. 60
 - 2. In order to obtain a conscious sedation permit the dentist must be trained in

A. safety

B. management of medical emergencies

C. safety and management of medical emergencies

D. none of the above

- 3. A dental assistant may perform which of the following delegated duties with expanded duties training?
 - A. placement of rubber dam
 - B. placement of topical anesthetic
 - C. placement of retraction cord
 - D. placement of a temporary crown

4. In order to refuse to grant a license, revoke a license or discipline a licensee the Board must vote _____.

A. by a majority B. by ³⁄₄ of the Board C. unanimously D. none of the above

5. Advertising using full names of practitioners at a specific location must comply with which of the following _____.

A. no names are requiredB. name of at least one practitioner at that locationC. name of practice ownerD. none of the above

6. An expanded duties assistant under direct supervision of the dentist may perform the placement of sealants and retraction cord.

A. True B. False

_____7. In order for a dentist to renew his/her license to practice dentistry he/she must:

A. have a current DEA registration

- B. be a member of the Georgia Dental Association
- C. be a member of the American Dental Association
- D. be currently certified in cardiopulmonary resuscitation
- 8. In order to fulfill the requirements for an enteral/enteral inhalation conscious sedation permit, the applicant must have at least how many patient experiences which shows competency in enteral/enteral inhalation conscious sedation?

A. 5 B. 10 C. 15 D. 20

9. A dental hygienist working under the direct supervision of a dentist may perform which of the following:

A. periodontal probing

B. administer local anesthesia

C. take oral x-rays

D. root planning with hand instruments

E. all of the above

- 10. The dental assistant without expanded duties training can perform all of the following duties EXCEPT _____.
 - A. monitor nitrous-oxide and adjust with supervision
 - B. polish enamel and restorations of the anatomical crown
 - C. remove dry socket medication
 - D. place and remove rubber dams
- ____11. A dental hygienist can perform which of the following?

A. removal of calculus deposits B. polishing of teeth C. removal of stains from the teeth D. all of the above

- _____12. A dental license may be refused or revoked for each of the following, EXCEPT ______.
 - A. unprofessional conduct which affects fitness to practice dentistry
 - B. taking a 20 day vacation
 - C. Pleading "no contest" to a felony
 - D. Making fraudulent representations to the Board
- 13. Following the end of the renewal biennium, a dentist must maintain documentation of continuing education course attendance for _____.
 - A. 1 year
 - B. 3 years
 - C. 5 years
 - D. 10 years
 - ____14. All complaints must be made in writing to which of the following?
 - A. American Dental Association
 - B. Governor's office
 - C. Georgia Board of Dentistry
 - D. Georgia Dental Association
- 15. Of the required 40 continuing education hours, a minimum of how many hours must involve the actual delivery of dental services to patients?
 - A. 10
 - B. 20
 - C. 30
 - D. 40

- 16. A report of all incidences of morbidity and mortality must be submitted to the Board within ______.
 - A. 30 daysB. 60 daysC. 180 days
 - D. 1 year
- ____17. A dentist shall not allow a dental technician to visit his/her office to see a patient EXCEPT to assist in the selection of a tooth shade.
 - A. True B. False
- 18. A dental assistant may perform all of the same duties of a dental hygienist under which conditions?
 - A. when the hygienist is on sick leave
 - B. when there are too many patients to be seen
 - C. no circumstances
 - D. when the hygienist instructs the dental assistant to do so
- _____ 19. A patient requests conscious sedation. He currently takes Prozac as prescribed by his physician. A dentist without a conscious sedation permit may administer _____.
 - A. nothing without consulting the prescribing physician
 - B. additional dose of Prozac only
 - C. local anesthetic only
 - D. N2O and local anesthetic
 - 20. A dental assistant must work under what type of supervision in a dentist office?
 - A. telephone supervision by the dentist
 - B. hour-to-hour supervision by the dentist
 - C. direct supervision and control by the dentist
 - D. indirect supervision and control by the dentist
 - 21. Face bow transfers, place periodontal dressings, make night guard impressions and place cavity liner and base over unexposed pulps are all duties that can be performed by _____.
 - A. the dental assistant
 - B. the expanded duties assistant
 - C. the lab technician
 - D. the sterilization technician

- 22. Pit and fissure light cured sealants may be applied by ______
 - A. the dental assistant
 - B. the hygienist and expanded duty assistant
 - C. the x-ray technician
 - D. both a and b
- 23. What is the maximum number of practicing dental hygienists can a dentist supervise under general supervision?
 - A. 1
 - B. 2
 - C. 4
 - D. unspecified
- _____24. The voluntary surrender of a license has the same effect as revocation and is subject to reinstatement by the Board.
 - A. True
 - B. False
 - _____25. An expanded duties dental assistant must obtain which of the following?
 - A. a certificate of completion from the General Dentistry Association
 - B. Course I, II, & III certificate of completion
 - C. a certificate of completion from a school recognized and approved by the board
 - D. membership in any Georgia professional organization
 - _____26. What happens if the applicant fails to appear before the Board for a hearing?
 - A. he/she is excused
 - B. the Board will carry on with a decision
 - C. the Board will not meet
 - D. his /her license is automatically revoked
 - 27. The expanded duties dental assistant may perform changing of the in-office bleaching agent with direct supervision only after _____.
 - A. the light blinks twice
 - B. 20 minutes have elapsed
 - C. desensitizing medications have been applied
 - D. the dentist has applied the initial application
 - 28. How many years after the date of the last treatment must a dentist maintain a patient's treatment record?
 - A. 2 years
 - B. 3 years
 - C. 10 years
 - D. 7 years

- _ 29. What device does conscious sedation require by law?
 - A. pulse oximeterB. approved N2O/O2 delivery unitC. positive pressure O2 delivery systemD. both A and C
- _____ 30. Who is authorized to use air abrasive equipment in a dentist office for removal of stains?
 - A. the dental hygienistB. the expanded duties assistantC. the licensed dentistD. both A and C
- _____ 31. A dental hygienist practicing under general supervision can perform which of the following functions?
 - A. oral prophylaxis
 - B. scaling and root planing
 - C. debridement
 - D. all of the above

END OF EXAM

GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11th Floor East Tower Atlanta, Georgia 30334

Georgia Board of Dentistry Jurisprudence Examination Dental/Dental Hygiene

Rule 150-3-.01(6); Rule 150-5-.02(9): In determining whether an applicant has met the requirements for licensure, an applicant must receive a passing score of 75 or greater on the Georgia jurisprudence examination. Such score will be deemed valid for a period not to exceed one year from the date in which the examination was administered.

AFFIDAVIT of Applicant:

I, _____, do hereby certify under oath the following:

I understand that this is an open book examination and the only authorized sources of assistance for completing this examination are the Georgia Law and Rules.

I have read the Georgia Law and Rules regulating the practice of dentistry in its entirety and have completed this examination without the aid or assistance of any individual or other unauthorized source.

I further understand that in accordance with O.C.G.A. § 43-11-47(a)(2) and O.C.G.A. § 43-11-72, the Board shall have the authority to refuse to grant a license or to revoke a license or to discipline a licensee upon a finding by a majority of the Board that a licensee or applicant has knowingly made misleading, deceptive, untrue, or fraudulent representations in the practice of dentistry or **on any document connected therewith**.

Witness my signature, the _____ day of _____, 20___.

Signature of Affiant

Sworn to and subscribed before me this ____ day of _____, 20___.

Notary Public

My Commission Expires: