
04/2024 

APPLICATION FOR DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS 

 
GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11th Floor 
          East Tower 
         Atlanta, Georgia  30334 

                                                      www.gbd.georgia.gov 

 
Please read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws and rules governing 
the practice of dental hygiene in the State of Georgia. Visit the following web site for 
information:  www.gbd.georgia.gov 
 

**Important** 
 

The Board cannot process incomplete applications.  If any item is missing, 
incomplete or incorrect, your application cannot be reviewed by the Board.   
 
Please review this application before you submit it to ensure that all information 
and documentation is complete and correct.   
 
Incomplete applications are maintained in the Board office for a period of one (1) 
year.  After such time the application is rendered void and the applicant must re-
apply and pay all required fees. 

 
Application Checklist 

The following checklist is an important part of your application.  Please use this 
checklist to ensure that you submit a COMPLETE application. 

 
The $1025 non-refundable application fee payable by check or money order to the 

Georgia Board of Dentistry must be included with your application.   
Checks returned for insufficient funds will be assessed a service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 16-9-20. 

 
1. NOTARIZED APPLICATION:  Completed application form accompanied by the 

appropriate fee.  Your application will not be processed unless the fee and all 
supporting documents are received.  If licensure is granted, the license will be 
required to be renewed by the last day of December in ODD numbered years, 
regardless of when you were originally licensed.  The licensure process could take 
up to a minimum of 30 days after submission of a completed application. Further, 
all credentials applications must be considered by the Board.  Plan your application 
submission accordingly. 

 
2. APPLICABLE LAWS AND RULES:  O.C.G.A. § 43-11-71.1 and Board Rule 150-7-

.05 give the specific requirements for provisional licensure by credentials.  These 
laws and rules may be found on the board’s website at www.gbd.georgia.gov.  
 

http://www.gbd.georgia.gov/
http://www.gbd.georgia.gov/
http://www.gbd.georgia.gov/
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3. LICENSE VERIFICATION:  Official licensure verification for every dental hygiene 
license ever held. Each verification must indicate the date of licensure, the licensure 
status (active, inactive, expired, revoked, etc.), any disciplinary actions taken 
against you by the licensing board and the result of these actions. The applicant 
must provide a certified copy of the formal complaint/pleading, outcomes, and a 
personal written explanation for each instance of discipline. You should call each 
state board about fees for these services. The verification(s) must be submitted with 
your application IN THE ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE FROM THE BOARD OF 
EACH LICENSING STATE, or sent via email directly from each licensing state to 
dentistry@dch.ga.gov. The verification must be dated within four months of the 
Board’s receipt of your complete application packet. 

 

4. DEGREE TRANSCRIPT:  An official transcript which documents graduation and 
degree achieved from a dental hygiene school and/or dental hygiene program 
which is accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental 
Education. The transcript must be IN THE ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE FROM 
THE COLLEGE, or emailed directly from the school to dentistry@dch.ga.gov.    
Georgia laws 43-11-71 and 43-11-71.1 require graduation from an ADA accredited 
school. 

 

5. NATIONAL BOARD SCORES:  National Board Dental Hygiene Examination 
Scores (NBDHE) from the ADA Joint Commission on National Dental examinations.   
The ADA will no longer send results via mail.  You may access your national board 
results online by going to 
http://www.ada.org/~/media/JCNDE/pdfs/nb_online_results.pdf?la=en.  Download 
your results and submit with your application.  ADDITIONALLY, please contact the 
ADA Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations and request they release 
your scores to the Georgia Board of Dentistry electronically.  This is required for our 
office to verify the score information you submitted with your application via the 
ADA Hub.  If you have any questions regarding this matter or have issues 
accessing this information, please contact the ADA at 800-232-1694 or 
nbexams@ada.org.   

 

6. CLINICAL EXAMINATION:  Proof of having successfully passed a clinical licensure 
examination with a score of 75 or higher in all sections.  

 
7. JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION:  A copy of the exam is included in the 

application packet.  Successful completion of the Jurisprudence Examination with a 
score of 75 or higher is required.  The Jurisprudence Examination may be taken as 
an open book exam.  You may refer to the Board’s law and rules governing the 
practice of dental hygiene in Georgia located on the Board’s website at 
https://gbd.georgia.gov/laws-policies-rules to assist you with the examination. Score 
is only valid for one (1) year. 

 

mailto:dentistry@dch.ga.gov
mailto:dentistry@dch.ga.gov
http://www.ada.org/~/media/JCNDE/pdfs/nb_online_results.pdf?la=en
mailto:nbexams@ada.org
https://gbd.georgia.gov/laws-policies-rules
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8. NATIONAL PRACTITIONER DATA BANK:  To obtain a self-query from the NPDB-
HIPDB, please visit www.npdb.hrsa.gov or call the Customer Service Center at 1-
800-767-6732. 
 
If the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) report provides any disciplinary 
action, certified copies of any pending or final disciplinary actions or malpractice 
actions against applicant must be submitted. All applicants must submit a NPDB 
report along with the completed application. The NPDB report must be dated within 
four months of the submission of the application. The ONLY applicants exempt from 
the requirement of NPDB report submission are those applicants within 6 months of 
dental school graduation and have never been issued a dental license in any state 
or U.S. territory.  

 
The NPDB report must be received in the ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE FROM 
NPDB.  Applicants who have disciplinary or malpractice case(s) (open & closed) will 
be considered for licensure on a case- by-case basis, after receipt of all required 
application materials. For each case, the applicant must submit:  
1) a copy of the formal complaint pleadings filed by the plaintiff/complainant or State 
Regulatory Agency,  
2) a copy of the final action, disposition, or settlement,  
3) a personal explanation of the disciplinary action or the malpractice claim, and  
4) any further information requested by the Board in separate communications.  

 
9. COPY OF COURT DOCUMENTS OR AFFIDAVITS explaining any discrepancies of 

the applicant’s name if documents submitted bear different name(s).[i.e. marriage 
certificate, divorce decree, legal name change] 

 
10. CPR:  A photocopy of current CPR certification in compliance with Board Rule 150-

5-.04. 
 

11. EMPLOYMENT AFFIDAVIT:  An affidavit from the applicant affirming employment 
for the two years immediately preceding the date of the application:  

(A) The dates and locations where the applicant has practiced dental hygiene 
and;  
(B) The applicant has been in full time clinical practice of a minimum of 1000 
hours per year in the hands on treatment of patients.  Training programs do not 
qualify as full time clinical practice.  Please note that the practice requirement 
cannot be waived as it is required by law.   

 
12. EXPEDITED APPLICATION REVIEW:  Military spouses, service members, and 

transitioning service members qualify for expedited application review and should 
review Board Rule 150-7-.06 for details. 

Upon receipt of the license, the applicant by credentials must establish active 
practice in this state within two years of receiving such license or the license 
shall be automatically revoked.   

http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/
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Relocation: If you relocate during the time that your application is being processed, you 
must notify the Board of your new address in writing by fax to (470) 386-6124 or mail. 
This will enable you to receive Board correspondence. 
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Georgia Board of Dentistry 
2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11th Floor 

East Tower 

Atlanta, GA  30334 

  

(404) 651-8000            www.gbd.georgia.gov  

                                                       
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

Application For:  Dental Hygiene License by Credentials 
Obtained By Method – Credentials  $1,025 Total Non-Refundable/Non-Transferable Application Fee  

Checks returned for insufficient funds will be assessed a $40 service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A.§ 16-9-20 

 

       

I am a military spouse, service member, or transitioning service member, and I am requesting expedited 

application review.  I understand that I may be required to submit a copy of my PCS orders, a copy of my 

spouse’s PCS orders and my marriage certificate, or other documentation as requested by the Board.      

Yes            No 

                                                                                                                                                                                   

Part I:  Personal Information 
 

1.  Name:_____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

                       Last  First   Middle    Maiden  

 

Name as shown on exam records or transcripts (if different)______________________________________________________ 

        

2.  Social Security Number*:  _________- _______-___________    3.  Date of Birth:______________  

 

4.  Physical Address:  ______________________________________________________________________________ 

   (Street)                (Apt. #)   (City/State/Zip Code)  (P.O. Box not acceptable) 

 

5.  Mailing address (if different):  

 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

                  (Street)                                      (Apt. #)   (City/State/Zip Code) 

 

If you are granted a license, your name, mailing address and license number are public information.   

 

6.  E-Mail Address:________________________________________________   

 

7.  Telephone #:  Home:  (       ) __________  Work (       )__________    Other (       )____________ 

 

8.  Military Service: ________________  Dates of Service:  ______________ 

 

     Honorable/Dishonorable Discharge:  ________________ 

 
This information is authorized to be obtained and disclosed to state and federal agencies pursuant to O.C.G.A. §19-11-1 and O.C.G.A. §20-3-295, 42 

U.S.C.A. §551 and 20 U.S.C.A. §1001.   It may also be disclosed to the National Practitioner’s Databank (NPDB) and the Healthcare Integrity and 

Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) or other licensing boards, or other regulatory agencies for license tracking purposes.  
 

 

   

Do Not Write in this Section: 

Receipt#:      

Amount:      

Applicant#:      

Initials/Date:     
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Part II:  Professional Education 
 

9.  Highest Degree Earned: ____Doctorate ____Master ____Bachelor  ____Associate _____ 

 

10.  Name/Address of Entry Level Professional Institution (e.g. technical school, undergraduate  

       college/university):____________________________________________________________________________________            

 a.    Dates Attended: __________________  c.  Graduation Date:  _______________  

 b.    Major:  ____________________  d.  Degree(s) Earned:  ______________  

 

11.  Name/Address of dental hygiene School/University:________________________________________________________ 

 a.    Dates Attended:  __________________  c.  Graduation Date:  ______________ 

 b.    Major:  _____________________  d.  Degree(s) Earned:  _____________ 

 

12.  Name/Address of Post-Graduate School/Hospital  (if applicable): ______________________________________________ 

a.  Type of Training: __________________  b.  Dates Attended: ____________ 
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              
13.  National Board Information: 

I hereby give permission for staff of the Georgia Board of Dentistry to verify my national board scores through the ADA 

Hub.  My DENTPIN # is________________________.  I understand the result information made available through the ADA 

Hub is intended for use in making licensure decisions. It is not to be used for other purposes or shared with any group or 

individual outside of the Georgia Board of Dentistry. 

 

__________________________________________ 

           Signature of Applicant 

 

14.  National Practitioners Data Bank/Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank 

The Georgia Board of Dentistry requires all candidates for licensure to query the NPDB/HIPDB before licensure will be 

granted:  You may contact the NPDB/HIPDB by calling: 1-800-767-6732 or by submitting your query online at: 

http://www.npdb.com/ www.npdb.hrsa.gov.  When you receive the RESPONSE from the NPDB/HIPDB please forward 

the information to the Board office along with your completed application. 

If you are a recent graduate (within the past six months) and not licensed in any other state, you are exempt from this 

requirement. 

 

15.  Have you failed a portion of any clinical examination, CRDTS, NERB, ADEX, SRTA, WREB, CITA, or any other  

regional or state clinical examination?   Yes      No 

       If yes, give dates (list regional or state if applicable) 

 

       ________________  ___________________  _________________ __________________ 

 

If you have failed an exam, please request an exam history from CRDTS, NERB, ADEX, SRTA, WERB, CITA, or any other 

regional or state board. 

 

Part III: 
 

If yes to any of the following questions you must attach a full written explanation pertaining to that 

particular question.  You are required to notify the Board immediately if any of your responses in Part III of 

this application change at any time during the application process. 
 

16.  Do you presently have any contagious or infectious disease?    Yes     No   

 

17.  Have you ever had a formal complaint filed against you with any dental or dental hygiene society, association, hospital, or 

dental board?   Yes     No   

 

18.  Has any state licensing board revoked or suspended your certificate/license, or taken other disciplinary action?   

  Yes     No   

 

19.  Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a dental hygiene license?    Yes     No   

 

20.  Have you ever had any malpractice suits filed against you?    Yes     No   

http://www.npdb.com/
http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/
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21.  Have you ever been denied issuance of or, pursuant to disciplinary proceedings, refused renewal of a license by any board 

or agency in Georgia or any other state?     Yes     No   

 

22.  Have you ever been denied the privilege of taking an examination before any Dental Board or licensing authority?  

   Yes     No   

 

23.  Have you ever been refused, or suspended from membership in a dental hygiene society, or association, or hospital staff?  

  Yes     No   

                                                                                                                                                                                                        

24.   Have you ever personally used narcotics or alcohol excessively or have you ever undergone treatment for addiction to 

alcohol or other controlled substances or habit-forming substances?    Yes     No   

 

25.  Have you ever been summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pled 

guilty to, or pled, nolo contender to, a violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any felony or misdemeanor 

(excluding minor traffic violations), (DWI & DUI are not minor traffic violations), or have you been requested to appear 

before a prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter?    Yes    No 

 

(Although a conviction may have been expunged from the records by order of court, it nevertheless must be disclosed in your 

answer to this question).  If yes, for each occurrence furnish a written statement giving the complete facts in your own words, 

including in such statement the date, name and nature of the offense, the name and locality of the court, and the disposition of 

each such matter. You must attach the court disposition.  

 

26.   Are there any pending complaints, investigations, disciplinary actions or litigation matters against you that have not been 

disclosed which may change any of your answers above?    Yes     No   

 

27.   Out of State Licensure Certification(s): 

 

List all states which you have been issued a license to practice dental hygiene:  (active, inactive, revoked, suspended, 

expired, lapsed etc.) You should have each state listed send an official letter of licensure verification/certification. See 

instruction sheet for details.  

 

             STATE   DATE OF LICENSURE  LICENSE STATUS 

 

_________________________ ________________________ _____________________ 

 

_________________________ ________________________ _____________________ 

 

_________________________ ________________________ _____________________ 

 

         _________________________ ________________________ _____________________ 
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Part IV:                                                                                                                                                                                                                          

 

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION 

 

I acknowledge and state that I have read the Application and Instructions that accompanied this application and I have 

answered all questions in compliance with these instructions.  I acknowledge that it is my responsibility to read and become 

familiar with the Dental Practice Act and the Board Rules. 

 

I further state that by submitting this application for a license to practice dentistry/dental hygiene in the State of Georgia, I 

hereby authorize and consent to have an investigation made as to the moral character, professional reputation and fitness for the 

practice of dentistry/ dental hygiene.  I agree to give any further information in which may be required in reference to my past 

record.  I understand that I will not receive a copy of the report or know its contents and I further understand that the contents 

of the investigative report will be privileged unless determined otherwise by the Board or Court Order. 

 

I hereby authorize the Georgia Board of Dentistry to receive any criminal history record pertaining to me, which may be in the 

files of any state or local criminal justice agency in Georgia or any other State or Territory.  I authorize and request every 

person, hospital, clinic, community, governmental agency (local, state, federal or foreign), court, association, institution, or 

other organization having control of any documents, records and other information pertaining to me, to furnish to the Georgia 

Board of Dentistry any information, including documents, records, regarding charges or complaints filed against me, formal or 

informal, pending or closed, or any other pertinent data and to permit the Georgia Board of Dentistry or any of its agents or 

representatives to inspect and make copies of such documents, records and other information, in connection with this 

application, subsequent licensure or practice thereunder. 

 

I hereby release, discharge and exonerate the Georgia Board of Dentistry, its agents or representatives, and any person so 

furnishing information, from any and all liability of every nature and kind arising out of the furnishing or inspection of such 

documents, records or other information or the investigation made by the Georgia Board of Dentistry.  I authorize the Georgia 

Board of Dentistry to release information, material, documents, orders or the like relating to me or to this application to any other 

State or Territory of the United States or Province of Canada, a law enforcement agency, a hospital or other appropriate agencies 

as determined by the Board. 

 

I, the undersigned, do hereby affirm under penalty of perjury that all statements made and information contained in this 

application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. Further, I consent to a thorough investigation of my 

employment record and other information that may be necessary to verify my qualifications to practice. I understand that any 

final disciplinary action that may ever be taken against my license, if it is granted, would be provided to a national disciplinary 

reporting system and that my Social Security number would be a part of that report. 

 

By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, I hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and accurate 

pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1: 

 

1) _______ I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older.  Please submit a copy of your current Secure and 

Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or document as indicated on pages 14 & 15 of this 

application. 

 

2) _______ I am not a United States citizen, but I am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 years of age or 

older, or I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older 

with an alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency.   Please submit a 

copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or your I-94 number and, if 

needed, SEVIS number. 

  

In making the above attestation, I understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result in disciplinary 

action by the Georgia Board of Dentistry and/or criminal prosecution.   
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SIGNATURE PAGE FOR AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION 
 

This is to certify that the foregoing information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.   

 

__________________________________ 

Signature of Applicant     

          (PHOTOGRAPH) 

Date ________________         Please attach recent photograph 

 

______________________________________________ 

(Print Name Above) 

 

County_________________________State________ 

 

being duly sworn, says that he/she is the person who executed the above application for license to practice dentistry/dental 

hygiene in the State of Georgia; and that all the statements herein contained are true in every respect and that the attached 

photo is a true photo of the applicant.   

 

 

 

________________________________ Notary Public                           Notary:  Do not notarize this section                       

        unless photograph is attached. 

 

 

Sworn to and subscribed before me this _____ day of _________________, _________. 

 

 

 

(SEAL) My Commission Expires____________________
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Part V:  MALPRACTICE QUESTIONNAIRE 

 

______________________________________________________________________ 

Name of Dental Hygienist      Business Telephone 

 

______________________________________________________________________ 

Address        City, State, Zip 

 

MALPRACTICE CHARGES/ALLEGATIONS:  Include name of patient, age, sex, date 

of occurrence and location (include address). 

______________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________ 

List names of other dental hygienists and/or physicians:__________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________ 

DISPOSITION:     Pending    Settled     If settled, provide the following information: 

Settlement Date_________  Total Settlement Amount________________ 

Amount Attributable to you: ________________    In Court      Out of Court 

  

 

The Board requires that you furnish documentation of the above information directly from  

the insurance company or attorney to the above address.  Such documentation should  

include plaintiff's complaint, settlement agreement, and/or court order. 

 

_______________________________________   _____________________________ 

  Signature       Date 

 

 

 

COMPLETE ONE QUESTIONNAIRE ON EACH MALPRACTICE SUIT  

YOU MAY DUPLICATE THIS FORM. 

 

 

 

If not, applicable, please write (N/A), sign and return with completed application. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
                                                     



04/2024 

Part VI:     STATE LICENSURE CERTIFICATION 

 

TO THE APPLICANT:  Please complete the top section of this form and mail to each 

state in which you are now or have been licensed to practice dentistry/dental hygiene.  

This form may be reproduced as necessary. Note:  A license verification as described in 

the above instructions (under Application Checklist) may be submitted in lieu of 

this form. 

 

TO:  _________________________ Board of Dentistry 

 

I am applying for licensure and the Georgia Board requires that your Board complete this 

form in order for my application for licensure to be considered.  By signing this form, I 

am giving my consent to the release of any information, favorable or otherwise, for 

review by the Georgia Board in its consideration of me for licensure.   

 

My license Number __________ was issued by your Board on _______________ on the 

basis of (  )State Board Exam, (  ) Reciprocity/Endorsement, (  ) National Board,  

(  ) Credentials, (  ) Other ________. 

 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 Applicant's Full Name (print or type)   Address 

 

____________________________    __________________________________________ 

      Signature    City  State      Zip 

 
 

 

*This section to be completed by an official of the above referenced licensing board.* 

 

Please return this form directly to the applicant in a sealed envelope. 

 

Dental/Dental Hygiene license number _______________ to practice dentistry/dental  

 

hygiene in the State of _____________________________was issued on _________ day  

 

___________, _______. 

 

Is license current and in good standing?  (    ) Yes  (     ) No* 

 

Has any disciplinary action ever been taken against this license?  (     ) Yes*   (     ) No 

 

*Please provide complete details, including copies of any documents. 

 

_____________________________________  ________________________ 

                           Signature               Date 

 

_____________________________________   

        Title      (BOARD SEAL)  

                               

_____________________________________           

                     Licensing Board  
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Part VII: 

GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

 
AFFIDAVIT  

 

DENTAL HYGIENE PROVISIONAL LICENSURE BY CREDENTIALS 

 

This form must be completed, signed, notarized and returned with the application packet.   

 

For the two (2) years immediately preceding my application for licensure by credentials, I have practiced at 

the following locations: 

 

 

             Location (COMPLETE ADDRESS)   Dates of Employment 

  

  

  

  

  

 

 

 

I have been in full time clinical practice of a minimum of 1,000 hours per year in the hands–on treatment of 

patients.      

  

                                  __________________________________________ 

  Signature 

 

                                                                                          _______________________________________________ 

      Date 

 

Affirmed to and subscribed before me this ________ day of _________________________, 20______. 

 

(Official Seal)                                                         ___________________________________________ 

  Notary Public 

 

 

My commission expires __________________________, 20_______. 
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GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11th Floor 

East Tower 

Atlanta, Georgia  30334 

 

CONSENT FORM 

I hereby authorize the Georgia Board of Dentistry (“Board”) to receive any Georgia 

criminal history record information pertaining to me which may be in the files of any 

state or local criminal justice agency in Georgia. 

 

________________________________________________________________________ 

   Full Name (Print) 
 

________________________________________________________________________ 

Physical Address (P.O. Boxes NOT Accepted)  

________________________________________________________________________   

 City, State, Zip    

       

 __________          ____________        ______________      _____________________ 

 Sex                        Race                        Date of Birth             Social Security Number 

 

 

One of the following must be checked: 

    This authorization is valid for 90/180/___ (circle one) days from date of signature. 

    I, _______________________________________ give consent to the Board to 

perform periodic criminal history background checks for the duration of my 

licensure with this state. 

 

________________________________  _______________         

Signature of Applicant    Date               
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APPLICANT:  PLEASE CHECK THE FORM OF IDENTIFICATION BELOW 

THAT YOU POSSESS.  RETURN THIS FORM ALONG WITH A COPY OF 

YOUR APPROPRIATE DOCUMENTATION. 

 

________________________________________  

Name 

 

Secure and Verifiable Documents Under O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2 

Issued February 20, 2018, by the Office of the Attorney General, Georgia 
 

The Illegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 (“IIREA”), as amended by 

Senate Bill 160, signed into law as Act No. 27, (2013), provides that “[n]ot later than 

August 1, 2011, the Attorney General shall provide and make public on the Department of 

Law’s website a list of acceptable secure and verifiable documents.  The list shall be 

reviewed and updated annually by the Attorney General.” O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(g).  The 

Attorney General may modify this list on a more frequent basis, if necessary. 

 
The following list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of 

O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2, contains documents that are verifiable for identification purposes, and 

documents on this list may not necessarily be indicative of residency or immigration status. 

 

 An unexpired United States passport or passport card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 

CFR § 274a.2] 

 

 An unexpired United States military identification card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-

2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

 An unexpired driver’s license issued by one of the United States, the District 

of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth 

of the Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American 

Samoa, or the Swain Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the 

bearer or lists sufficient identifying information regarding the bearer, such as 

name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to enable the 

identification of the bearer [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]
1
 

 
 An unexpired identification card issued by one of the United States, the District 

of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of 
the Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American 
Samoa, or the Swain Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the 
bearer or lists sufficient identifying information regarding the bearer, such as 
name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to enable the 
identification of the bearer [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

 

 

 

 
1 For identification presented to poll workers when voting, a registered Georgia voter may 

present an expired Georgia driver’s license as proof of identification when voting 

pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417. 
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 An unexpired tribal identification card of a federally recognized Native American 

tribe, provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient 

identifying information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, 

height, eye color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer.  A listing 

of federally recognized Native American tribes may be accessed at: 

https://www.bia.gov/tribal-leaders-directory [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 

274a.2] 

 

 An unexpired United States Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration 

Receipt Card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

 An unexpired Employment Authorization Document that contains a photograph 

of the bearer [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

 An unexpired passport issued by a foreign government, provided that such 

passport is accompanied by a United States Department of Homeland Security 

(“DHS”) Form I-94, DHS Form I-94A, DHS Form I-94W, or other federal form 

specifying an individual’s lawful immigration status or other proof of lawful 

presence under federal immigration law
2 

[O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 

274a.2] 

 

 An unexpired Merchant Mariner Document or Merchant Mariner Credential 

issued by the United States Coast Guard [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 

274a.2] 

 

 An unexpired Free and Secure Trade (FAST) card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 

CFR § 41.2] 

 

 An unexpired NEXUS card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2] 

 

 An unexpired Secure Electronic Network for Travelers Rapid Inspection 

(SENTRI) card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2] 

 

 An unexpired driver’s license issued by a Canadian government authority 

[O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2] 

 

 A Certificate of Citizenship issued by the United States Department of 

Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-560 or Form N-561) 

[O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]  

 

_________________________ 
2 

Senate Bill 160 (Act No. 27), effective July 1, 2013, limited the use of passports issued 

by foreign nations to satisfy the requirements for submission of secure and verifiable 

documents to only those passports submitted in conjunction with a United States 

Department of Homeland Security (“DHS”) Form I-94, DHS Form I-94A, DHS Form I-

94W, or other federal form specifying an individual’s lawful immigration status or other 

proof of lawful presence under federal immigration law. 
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 A Certificate of Naturalization issued by the United States Department of 

Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-550 or Form N-570) 

[O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3);  

6 CFR § 37.11] 

 

 Certification of Report of Birth issued by the United States Department of State 

(Form DS-1350) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11] 

 

 Certification of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State 

(Form FS-545) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11] 

 

 Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State 

(Form FS-240) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11] 

 

 An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a State, county, 

municipal authority, or territory of the United States bearing an official seal 

[O.C.G.A § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11] 

 

 When applying for any public benefit with the Department of Driver Services, an 

applicant may submit either an expired or unexpired document that is listed above 

as a secure and verifiable document.  [O.C.G.A. §§ 50-36-1(g) & 50-36-2(b)(3)] 

 

 When applying for a voter identification card pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 21-2-

417.1, an individual may submit the aggregate forms of identification 

authorized by O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417.1(e). 

 

 In addition to the documents listed herein, if, in administering a public benefit or 

program, an agency is required by federal law to accept a document or other form 

of identification for proof of or documentation of identity, that document or other 

form of identification will be deemed a secure and verifiable document solely for 

that particular program or administration of that particular public benefit. 

[O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(c)] 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



04/2024 

Affidavit Regarding Citizenship 
 
Please submit this document along with a copy of your secure & verifiable document to the Board 

office as indicated on the application. 

 

Print Name: _______________________________  License Number: ____________________ 

 

APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT: 
I hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to 

the best of my knowledge and belief. I further swear and affirm that I have read and understand 
the current state laws and rules and regulations of the Board for which I am applying for licensure 

and I agree to abide by these laws and rules, as amended from time to time. 
 

By signing this application, I hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and 

accurate pursuant to O.C.G.A. §50-36-1 (check one): 

 

1)_______ I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. Please submit a copy of your 

current Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or document 

as indicated on the Board’s website. 

 

2) _______ I am not a United States citizen, but I am a legal permanent resident of the United 

States 18 years of age or older, or I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal  

immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an alien number issued by the 

Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. Please submit a copy  

of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or 

your I-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS number. 

 

In making the above attestation, I understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures 

may result in disciplinary action by the Board for which I am applying for licensure and/or 

criminal prosecution. 

 

________________________________    __________________ 

Signature of Applicant                                                                                    Date 
 

Personally appeared before me, the undersigned official authorized to administer oaths, comes 
 
_________________________ who deposes and swears that he/she is the person who  
          (Applicant’s Printed Name) 

 

executed this affidavit for a professional license application in the State of Georgia; and that all of  
 
the statements herein contained are true to the best of his/her knowledge and belief. 
 
 
Sworn to and subscribed before me this_____day of _______________________, 20____. 
 
 
________________________________________ 
NOTARY PUBLIC 
 
My Commission Expires:____________________   (Notary Seal) 
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GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11th Floor 

East Tower 

Atlanta, Georgia  30334 
 

CANDIDATES MUST SUBMIT A COMPLETED JURISPRUDENCE EXAM ALONG WITH A COMPLETED APPLICATION WITH 

NECESSARY DOCUMENTS IN ORDER TO HAVE A COMPLETE APPLICATION. 
 
 

Name        Social Security Number    

Address       

____________________________________ 

____________________________________ Date________________________________ 

 

JURISPRUDENCE 

DENTAL HYGIENE EXAMINATION 

 

TRUE OR FALSE:  Place the appropriate word in the space provided. Each question will be awarded 4 points. 

 

(Questions 1 thru 5) 

A dental hygienist holding a license in Georgia may be disciplined if he/she has: 

 

______ 1.  provided dental screening at a pre-approved health fair setting. 

 

______ 2. made misleading, deceptive, or untrue representations in the practice of dental hygiene. 

 

______ 3. had his/her license revoked, suspended, or annulled by any lawful licensing dental     

                        authority other than the Georgia Board of Dentistry. 

 

______ 4. been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude. 

 

______ 5. allowed an unlicensed person to practice dental hygiene by using his/her license 

registration. 

GENERAL     (Questions 6 thru 12) 

 

______ 6. Dr. Joe performs an initial oral exam; Mrs. B, Dr. Joe’s assistant, polishes  

the patient’s teeth and the patient is charged for prophylaxis. This is an 

appropriate charge. 

 

______ 7. A dental hygienist was asked to perform dental screenings at a board 

approved health fair setting. The requirement of direct supervision does 

not apply. 

 

______ 8. A licensed dental hygienist is allowed to air polish, micro etche, and also  

use air abrasion. 

 

______ 9. It is fair and ethical to use any means to draw patronage from the practice  

of the hygienist’s former dentist-employer. 

 

______ 10. The requirement of direct supervision does not apply to the educational  

training of hygiene students. 
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______ 11. All continuing education hours must be received during the two-year  

Renewal period to which they are applied. 

 

______ 12. A dental assistant may perform a rubber cup prophy on a patient with  

primary dentition only after completing a curriculum approved by the 

Board or a minimum of eight hours of on the-job-training in the provision 

of rubber cup prophies by a Georgia licensed dentist. 

 

(Questions 13 thru 16) 

Georgia Law allows a hygienist to: 

 

______ 13. condense a final amalgam restoration. 

 

______ 14. make final impressions for crowns and bridges. 

 

______ 15. dry the MB canal of #30 with an absorbent point and place a soothing 

medicament if instructed to do by Dr. Jones a licensed and registered 

dentist. 

 

______ 16. make final impressions for partial dentures. 

 

 

Multiple Choice. Choose the BEST answer to make the statement a true statement. 

 

______ 17. Who is responsible for the actions of the dental assistant? 

 

(a) the office manager 

(b) the attending dentist 

(c) the dental hygienist  

(d) the treatment coordinator 

 

______ 18. A dental assistant may perform all of the duties of a dental hygienist 

  under which conditions? 

 

(a) no circumstance. 

(b) when the hygienist is on sick leave. 

(c) when there are too many patients to be seen. 

(d) when the hygienist instructs the dental assistant to do so 

 

______ 19. According to Georgia Rules, how many scientific hours are required for   

continuing education? 

 

(a) 5 

(b) 12 

(c) 15 

(d) 20 
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______ 20. How many hours does CPR count toward continuing education credits for  

  a dental hygienist? 

 

(a) four 

(b) five 

(c) eight 

(d) ten 

 

______ 21. The dentist has administered Nitrous Oxide to the patient and has left the  

  operatory. The patient informs you that he does not feel any effects of the  

  gas. It is legal for you as a dental hygienist to increase the Nitrous Oxide  

  level: 

 

(a) 0% 

(b) 10% 

(c) 15% 

(d) 20% 

 

______ 22. According to Georgia Law, practicing as a dental hygienist without a  

  license is: 

 

(a) a felony 

(b) a misdemeanor 

(c) unethical conduct 

(d) exploitation 

 

______ 23. Current CPR certification may be obtained by demonstrating skills in: 

   

(a) one and two man CPR with management for airway for seniors. 

(b) one and two man CPR with management for airway for adults. 

(c) one and two man CPR with management for airway for adults, 

children, and infants. 

(d) one and two man CPR with management for airway for adults, 

children, and special needs citizens.  

 

______ 24. To practice under general supervision a dental hygienist must: 

 

(a) maintain professional liability insurance with minimum coverage 

of $1,000,000 

(b) have at least 2 years of experience 

(c) be in compliance with CE and CPR requirements 

(d) be licensed in good standing 

(e) all of the above 

 

______ 25. A dental hygienist practicing under general supervision in a private office  

can perform which of the following functions? 

   

(a) oral prophylaxis 

(b) scaling and root planing 

(c) fluoride treatment 

(d) both A and C 
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****************************************************************************** 

END OF EXAM 

****************************************************************************** 
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GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11th Floor 

East Tower 

Atlanta, Georgia  30334 
 

        
Georgia Board of Dentistry 

Jurisprudence Examination Dental/Dental Hygiene 

 

 Rule 150-3-.01(6); Rule 150-5-.02(9):  In determining whether an applicant has 

met the requirements for licensure, an applicant must receive a passing score of 75 or 

greater on the Georgia jurisprudence examination. Such score will be deemed valid for a 

period not to exceed one year from the date in which the examination was administered. 

 

 

AFFIDAVIT of Applicant: 

 

 I,       , do hereby certify under oath the following: 

 

 I understand that this is an open book examination and the only authorized 

sources of assistance for completing this examination are the Georgia Law and Rules. 

 

 I have read the Georgia Law and Rules regulating the practice of dentistry in its 

entirety and have completed this examination without the aid or assistance of any 

individual or other unauthorized source. 

 

 I further understand that in accordance with O.C.G.A. § 43-11-47(a)(2) and 

O.C.G.A. § 43-11-72, the Board shall have the authority to refuse to grant a license or to 

revoke a license or to discipline a licensee upon a finding by a majority of the Board that 

a licensee or applicant has knowingly made misleading, deceptive, untrue, or fraudulent 

representations in the practice of dentistry or on any document connected therewith.  

 

 

 Witness my signature, the    day of   , 20 . 

 

 

          

Signature of Affiant 

 

Sworn to and subscribed before me this   day of   , 20 . 

 

 

      

Notary Public 

 

My Commission Expires: 

 
     
 

 


