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A meeting of the Georgia Board of Dentistry was held on Friday, March 12, 2004, at the 
Professional Licensing Boards in Macon, Georgia. 
 
The following Board members were present: Others Present: 
Dr. Logan Nalley, Jr., President   Anita O. Martin, Executive Director 
Ms. Tunde Anday, RDH     Susan S. Hewett, Board Secretary 
Dr. Clyde Andrews     Allyson Krause, Assistant Attorney 
Dr. Clark Carroll      General 
Dr. Henry Cook      Nelda Greene, GDA 
Dr. Stephan Holcomb     Nancy Sykes, GDHA   
Dr. C. Christopher McFarland    
Dr. Peter Trager       
Dr. Willis J. Walker, Jr.     
Mr. Charles McDougald         
 
 
Dr. Nalley, Board President, established that a quorum was present, and the public 
hearing scheduled to begin at 9:00 a.m. was called to order at 9:18 a.m. 
 
Rule 150-3-.09 Continuing Education for Dentists:    Nancy Sykes from GDHA 
expressed concerns regarding the adoption of this rule. 
 
Rule 150-5-.05 Continuing Education for Dental Hygienists:     Nancy Sykes from 
GDHA expressed concerns regarding the adoption of this rule. 
 
150-8-.01 Unprofessional Conduct Defined:     No comments were received regarding 
the adoption of this rule. 
 
The hearing was adjourned at 9:26 a.m. and the meeting that was scheduled to begin 
at 9:05 a.m. was called to order at 9:26 a.m. 
 
Minutes:     Dr. Cook made a motion, Dr. Andrews seconded and the Board voted to 
approve the minutes for the February 6, 2004 meeting. 
 
CE Audit Committee:   Dr. Henry Cook – Three CE audit renewals were reviewed 
today. 
 
Conscious Sedation/General Anesthesia Committee:  Dr. Bill Broadfoot  

Ø Dr. Clyde  Andrews reported on the DOCS Seminary he attended on behalf of the 
Board. 

 
Credentialing Committee:     Dr. Peter Trager - No Report 
 
Dental Hygiene Sub-Committee:    Tunde Anday 

Ø Ms. Anday requested a copy of the GDHA letter regarding opposition to the line 
item budget funding request for the Georgia Board of Dentistry to be sent to the 
Board office.  A copy will be sent to all Board members when received. 

 
Examination Committee:  Dr. Chris McFarland    

Ø Dr. McFarland reported that the exam series will begin soon.  Board members 
were asked to closely observe the changes in the calibration.   
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Ø Dr. Trager shared information from SRTA about the Florida Boards issue with 

hygienist participation in the examination process. 
Ø Dr. Holcomb thanked Dr. McFarland for his work in assisting with the 

standardization of minimum standards for SRTA. 
 

Legislative Committee:   Dr. Chris McFarland  
Ø HB1706 – The Board voted in favor of the proposed legislation. 

 
Licensure Overview Committee:   Dr. Jimmy Walker 

Ø Reported that MCG is willing to offer the LEAP course as needed. 
Ø Ida B. Lanier – Notify Dr. Lanier that she is not in compliance with her consent 

order. Must provide proof of continuing education within 10 working days or the 
consent order will be modified to include 1 year of probation, 16 hours of CE 
and $500 fine. 

 
Rules Committee:    Dr. Peter Trager 

Ø Rule 150-3-.09 Requirements for Continuing Education for Dentists – Dr. 
Trager made a motion, Dr. Cook seconded and the Board voted to adopt the 
rule. 

Rule 150-3-.09. Continuing Education for Dentists.  Amended.   

(1) Dentists licensed to practice in the state of Georgia shall maintain and furnish to the 
Board, upon request, official documentation of having completed a minimum of forty 
(40) hours of continuing education during each biennium.  Official documentation shall 
be defined as documentation from an approved provider that verifies a licensee's 
attendance at a particular continuing education course. Official documentation of 
course attendance must be maintained by a dentist for at least three (3) years following 
the end of the biennium during which the course was taken. 

(a) Compliance with all continuing education requirements is a condition for license 
renewal. Failure to com plete all hours of mandatory continuing education shall serve as 
grounds to deny the renewal of a license and may also result in disciplinary action 
being taken against a licensee. 

(b) Upon its own motion, the Board may at any time randomly select a percentage of 
actively licenses dentists for the purpose of auditing their compliance with the 
continuing education requirements of the Board. Those licensees selected for an audit 
shall submit official documentation of their compliance within thirty (30) days of receipt 
of the audit letter. Failure to respond to an audit request in a timely manner shall be 
grounds for disciplinary action against a licensee. 

(c) The continuing education requirements shall not apply to dentists whose licenses 
are on inactive status. 

(d) The continuing education requirements shall apply within the first biennium that a 
dentist is licensed in Georgia.  However, in order to meet the continuing education 
requirements during the first biennium, a newly licensed dentist may submit as their 
continuing education hours proof of dental coursework taken within the previous two 
(2) years of the date of the renewal application from a university or other institution 
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 
Association.  Following the first biennium that a dentist is licensed in Georgia such  
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licensees shall comply with the continuing education requirements set forth in Rule 
150-3-.09 (2) and (3). 
 
(2) Coursework, including home study courses, sponsored or approved by the following 
recognized organizations will be accepted: 

(a) American Dental Association/American Dental Hygienists Association, and their 
affiliate associations and societies; 

(b) Academy of General Dentistry; 

(c) National Dental Association and its affiliate societies; 

(d) Colleges and universities with programs in dentistry and dental hygiene that are 
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 
Association when the professional continuing education course is held under the 
auspices of the school of dentistry or school of dental hygiene; 

(e) CPR courses offered by the American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, the 
American Safety and Health Institute, or the National Safety Council; 

(f) National and State Associations and/or societies of all specialties in dentistry 
recognized under Georgia law; 

(g) Veterans Administration Dental Department; 

(h) Armed Forces Dental Department; 

(i) Georgia Department of Human Resources; 

(j) American Medical Association and its affiliate associations and societies. 

(3) Course content: 

(a) All courses must reflect the professional needs of the dentist in providing quality 
dental health care to the public; 

(b) At least thirty (30) hours of the minimum requirement shall be clinical courses in 
the actual delivery of dental services to the patient or to the community; 

(c) Four (4) credit hours for successful completion of the CPR course required by 
Georgia law may be used to satisfy continuing education requirements per renewal 
period. 

(d)  Up to fifteen (15) hours of continuing education per year may be obtained by 
assisting the Board with administering the clinical licensing examination or by assisting 
the Board with investigations of licensees.  These hours shall be approved by the 
Continuing Education Committee of the Georgia Board of Dentistry and need not be 
sponsored by any agency listed in 150-3-.09(2). 
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(e)  Up to ten (10) hours of continuing education per year may be obtained by teaching 
clinical dentistry or dental hygiene at any ADA-approved educational facility.  These 
hours shall be awarded in writing by the course director at the facility and approved by 
the Continuing Education Committee of the Georgia Board of Dentistry.   

(4) Criteria for receiving credit for attending an approved continuing education course: 

(a) Credit hours are not retroactive or cumulative. All credit hours must be received 
during the two (2) year period to which they are applied; 

(b) One credit hour for each hour of course attendance will be allowed; 

(c) Only twelve hours of credit will be accepted per calendar day. 

(5) Criteria for receiving credit for teaching an approved continuing education course: 

(a) Credit hours for teaching an approved course must be obtained and used during the 
biennium that the  approved course is taught; 

(b) A dentist who teaches an approved continuing education course is eligible to receive 
two (2) credit hours for each hour of course work that he or she presents at a particular 
course. Credit will be given for teaching a particular course on one occasion. A 
maximum of ten (10) credit hours per biennium may be obtained by a dentist by whom 
an approved continuing education course is taught; 

(c) Only continuing education courses designated in Rule 150-3-.09(2) as being 
sponsored or approved by recognized organizations will be considered for credit 
pursuant to this subsection of the rule. Pre -doctoral courses taught by a dentist shall 
not be  eligible for consideration pursuant to this provision of the rule; 

(d) In the event that an audit is conducted of the continuing education hours of a 
dentist who has taught a course approved by a recognized organization, the following 
information shall be  required to document the dentist's role in presenting a continuing 
education course: 

(i) Documentation from an approved provider verifying that the dentist presented an 
approved continuing education course; 

(ii) Documentation from an approved provider reflecting the content of the course; 

(iii) Documentation from an approved provider specifying the list of materials used as a 
part of the course; and 

(iv) Documentation from an approved provider verifying the hours earned and the dates 
and times that the course in question was given.  

(e) In the event that an approved continuing education course is taught by more than 
one dentist, continuing education credit will be given for those portions of course work 
for which the dentist is directly involved and primari ly responsible for the preparation 
and presentation thereof. Continuing education credit will not be available to a dentist 
whose participation in preparing and presenting an approved course is not readily 
identifiable. 
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Authority O.C.G.A.§§ 43-11-7, 43-11-8(a)(2), and 43-11-46(c), and 43-11-46.1.   
 
Rule 150-5-.05 Requirements for Continuing Education for Dental Hygienists – Dr. 
Trager made a motion, Dr. Cook seconded and the Board voted to adopt the rule. 

Rule 150-5-.05. Requirements for Continuing Education for Dental Hygienists.  
Amended.   

(1) Dental hygienists licensed to practice in the state of Georgia shall maintain and 
furnish to the Board, upon request, official documentation of having completed a 
minimum of twenty-two (22) hours of continuing education during each biennium. 
Official documentation shall be defined as documentation from an approved provider 
that verifies a licensee's attendance at a particular continuing education course. Official 
documentation of course attendance must be maintaine d by a dental hygienist for at 
least three (3) years following the end of the biennium during which the course was 
taken.  
 
(a) Compliance with all continuing education requirements is a condition for license 
renewal. Failure to complete all hours of manda tory continuing education shall serve as 
grounds to deny the renewal of a license and may also result in disciplinary action 
being taken against a licensee. 

(b) Upon its own motion, the Board may at any time randomly select a percentage of 
actively license d dental hygienists for the purpose of auditing their compliance with the 
continuing education requirements of the Board. Those licensees selected for an audit 
shall submit official documentation of their compliance within thirty (30) days of receipt 
of the audit letter. Failure to respond to an audit request in a timely manner shall be 
grounds for disciplinary action against a licensee. 

(c) The continuing education requirements shall apply within the first biennium that a 
dental hygienist is licensed in Ge orgia.  However, in order to meet the continuing 
education requirements during the first biennium, a newly licensed dental hygienist 
may submit as their continuing education hours proof of dental hygiene coursework 
taken within the previous two (2) years of the date of the renewal application from a 
university or other institution accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 
the American Dental Association.  Following the first biennium that a dental hygienist 
is licensed in Georgia such licensees shall comply  with the continuing education 
requirements set forth in Rule 150-5-.05 (2) and (3). 

(d) The continuing education requirements shall not apply to dental hygienists who are 
on inactive status. 

(2) Coursework, including home study courses, sponsored or approved by any 
organization recognized under Rule 150-3-.09(2) will be accepted. 

(3) Course content: 

(a) All courses must reflect the professional needs of the hygienist providing quality 
dental health care to the public; 
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(b) At least fifteen (15) hours of the minimum requirement must be scientific courses in 
the actual delivery of dental services to the patient or to the community. 

(c) Four (4) credit hours for successful completion of the CPR course required by 
Georgia law offered by the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross, the 
American Safety and Health Institute, or the National Safety Council may be used to 
satisfy continuing education requirements per renewal period. 

(d)  Up to eight (8) hours of continuing education per year may be obtained by 
assisting the Board with administering the clinical licensing examination or by assisting 
the Board with investigations of licensees.  These hours shall be approved by the 
Continuing Education Committee of the Georgia Board of Dentistry and need not be 
sponsored by any agency or organization listed in 150-3-.09(2).  

(e)  Up to five (5) hours of continuing education per year may be obtained by teaching 
dental hygiene at any ADA-approved educational facility.  These hours shall be 
awarded, in writing, by the course director at the facility and approved by the 
Continuing Education Committee of the Georgia Board of Dentistry.   

(4) Criteria for receiving credit for attending an approved continuing education course:  

(a) Credit hours are not retroactive or cumulative. All credit hours must be received 
during the two (2) year period to which they are applied; and 

(b) One credit hour for each hour of course attendance will be allowed.; 

(c) Only twelve hours of credit will be accepted per calendar day. 

(5) Criteria for receiving credit for teaching an approved continuing education course: 
 
(a) Credit hours for teaching an approved course must be obtained and used during the 
biennium that the approved course is taught; 

(b) A dental hygienist that teaches an approved continuing education course is eligible 
to receive two (2) credit hours for each hour of coursework that he or she presents at a 
particular course. Credit will be given for teaching a particular course on one occasion 
only. A maximum of five (5) credit hours per biennium may be obtained by a dental 
hygienist by whom an approved continuing education course is taught; 

(c) Only continuing education course  designated in rule 150-5.05(2) as being sponsored 
or approved by recognized organizations will be considered for credit pursuant to this 
subsection of the rule. Courses taught by a dental hygienist prior to or a part of the 
process of obtaining his or her R.D.H. shall not be eligible for consideration pursuant to 
this provision of the rule; 

(d) In the event that an audit is conducted of the continuing education hours of a dental 
hygienist who has taught a course approved by a recognized organization, the following 
shall be required to document the dental hygienist's role in presenting a continuing 
education course: 
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(i) Documentation from an approved provider verifying that the dental hygienist 
presented an approved continuing education course; 

(ii) Documentation from an approved provider reflecting the content of the course; 

(iii) Documentation from an approved provider specifying the list of materials used as 
part of the course; and 

(iv) Documentation from an approved provider verifying the hours earned and the dates 
and times that the course in question was given. 

(e) In the event that an approved continuing education course is taught by more than 
one dental hygienist, continuing education credit will be given for those portions of 
course work in which the  dental hygienist is directly involved and primarily responsible 
for the preparation and presentation thereof. Continuing education credit will not be 
available to a dental hygienist whose participation in preparing and presenting an 
approved course is not readily identifiable. 
 
Authority O.C.G.A. §§ 43-11-7, 43-11-8, 43-11-9, 43-11-73, and 43-11-73.1. 

Rule 150-8-.01 Unprofessional Conduct Defined – Dr. Trager made a motion, Dr. 
Cook seconded and the Board voted to adopt the rule. 

150-8-.01 Unprofessional Conduct Defined. Amended.  

The Board has the authority to refuse to grant a license to an applicant, or to discipline 
a dentist or dental hygienist licensed in Georgia if that individual has engaged in 
unprofessional conduct. For the purpose of the implementation and enforcement of this 
rule, unprofessional conduct is defined to include, but not be limited to, the following: 

(a) Failing to conform to current recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control 
and Prevention (C.D.C.) for preventing transmission of Human Immunodeficiency Virus, 
Hepatitis B Virus, and all other communicable diseases to patients. It is the 
responsibility of all currently licensed dentists and dental hygienists to maintain 
familiarity with these recommendations, which are considere d by the Board to be 
minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing dental practice. (Copies of the 
guidelines may be obtained from the Centers for Disease Control, the Department of 
Human Resources, or from the Board.) 

(b) Violating any lawful order of the Board; 

(c) Violating any Consent Agreement entered into with the Georgia Board of Dentistry or 
any other licensing board; 

(d) Violating statutes and rules relating to or regulating the practice of dentistry, 
including, but not limited to, the following: 

1. The Georgia Dental Practice Act (O.C.G.A. T. 43, Ch. 11); 

2. The Georgia Controlled Substances Act (O.C.G.A. T. 16, Ch. 13, Art. 2); 
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3. The Georgia Dangerous Drug Act (O.C.G.A. T. 16, Ch. 23, Art. 3); 

4.The Federal Controlled Substances Act (21 U.S.C.A., Ch. 13); 

5. Rules and Regulations of the Georgia Board of Dentistry; 

6. Rules of the Georgia State Board of Pharmacy, Ch. 480, Rules and Regulations of the 
State of Georgia, in particular those relating to the prescribing and dispensing of drugs, 
Ch. 480-28; 

7. Code of Federal Regulations Relating to Controlled Substances (21 C.F.R. Par. 1306); 

8. O.C.G.A. T. 31-33 Health Records. 

(e) Failing to maintain appropriate records whenever controlled drugs are prescribed. 
Appropriate records, at a minimum, shall contain the following: 

1. The patient's name and address; 

2. The date, drug name, drug quantity, and diagnosis for all controlled drugs; 

3. Records concerning the patient's history. 

(f) Prescribing controlled substances for a habitual drug user in the absence of 
substantial dental justification. 

(g) Prescribing drugs for other than legitimate dental purposes. 

(h) Any departure from, or failure to conform to, the minimum standards of acceptable 
and prevailing dental practice. Guidelines to be used by the Board in defining such 
standards may include, but are not restricted to: 

1. Diagnosis. Evaluation of a dental problem using means such as history, oral 
examination, laboratory, and radiographic studies, when applicable. 

2. Treatment. Use of medications and other modalities based on generally accepted and 
approved indications, with proper precautions to avoid adverse physical reactions, 
habituation or addiction. 

3.  Emergency Service.  Dentists shall be obliged to make reasonable arrangements for 
the emergency care of their patients of record.   

4. Records. Maintenance of records to furnish documentary evidence of the course of 
the patient's medical/dental evaluation, treatment and response. A dentist shall be 
required to maintain a patient's complete dental record, which may include, but is not 
limited to, the following: treatment notes, evaluations, diagnoses, prognoses, x-rays, 
photographs, diagnostic models, laboratory reports, laboratory prescriptions (slips), 
drug prescriptions, insurance claim forms, billing records, and other technical 
information used in assessing a patient's condition. Notwithstanding any other  
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provision of law, a dentist shall be required to maintain a patient's complete treatment 
record for no less than a period of ten (10) years from the date of the patient's last office 
visit.  

(i) Practicing fraud, forgery, deception or conspiracy in connection with an examination 
for licensure or an application; 

(j) Knowingly submitting any misleading, deceptive, untrue, or fraudulent 
misrepresentation on a claim form, bill or statement to a third party; 

(k) Knowingly submitting a claim form, bill or statement asserting a fee for any given 
dental appliance, procedure or service rendered to a patient covered by a dental 
insurance plan, which fee i s greater than the fee the dentist usually accepts as payment 
in full for any given dental appliance, procedure or service. 

(l) Abrogating or waiving the co-payment provisions of a third party contract by 
accepting the payment received from a third party as payment in full, unless the 
abrogation or waiver of such co-payment of the intent to abrogate or waive such co-
payment is fully disclosed, in writing, to the third party at the time the claim is 
submitted for payment. For the purpose of this rule, a "thi rd party" is any party to a 
dental prepayment contract that may collect premiums, assume financial risks, pay 
claims, and/or provide administrative service; 

(m) Falsifying, altering or destroying treatment records in contemplation of an 
investigation by the Board or a lawsuit being filed by a patient; 

(n) Committing any act of sexual intimacy, abuse, misconduct or exploitation related to 
the licensee's practice of dentistry or dental hygiene; 

(o) Delegating to unlicensed or otherwise unqualified personnel duties that may only be 
lawfully performed by a dentist or dental hygienist; 

(p) Using improper, unfair or unethical measures to draw dental patronage from the 
practice of another licensee. 

(q) Termination of a dentist/patient relationship by a dentist, unless notice of the 
termination is provided to the patient. A "dentist/patient relationship" exists where a 
dentist has provided dental treatment to a patient on at least one occasion within the 
preceding year.  

(1) "Termination of a dentist/patient relationship by the dentist" means that the dentist 
is unavailable to provide dental treatment to a patient, under the following 
circumstances: 

(i) The office where the patient has received dental care has been closed permanently or 
for a period in excess of (30) days; or 

(ii) The dentist discontinues treatment of a particular patient for any reason, including 
non-payment of fees for dental services, although the dentist continues to provide 
treatment to other patients at the office location. 
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(2) The dentist who is the owner or custodian of the patient's dental records shall mail 
notice of the termination of the dentist's relationship to patient, which notice shall 
provide the following: 

(i) The date that the termination becomes effective, and the date on which the 
dentist/patient relationship may resume, if applicable; 

(ii) A location at which the patient may receive emergency dental care for at least (30) 
days following the termination of the dentist/patient relationship; 

(iii) A statement of further dental treatment required, if any; and 

(iv) A means for the patient to obtain a copy of his of her dental records. 

The notice shall be mailed at least fourteen (14) days prior to the date of termination of 
the dentist/patient relationship, unless the termination results from an unforeseen 
emergency (such as sudden injury or illness), in which case the notice shall be mailed 
as soon as practicable under the circumstances. 

Authority O.C.G.A. §§ 43-11-7, 43-11-8, 43-11-47, 43-11-72, and 31-33-2. 
The Board voted that the formulation and adoption of these rules does not impose 
excessive regulatory cost on any licensee and any cost to comply with the proposed 
rules cannot be reduced by a less expensive alternative that fully accomplishes the 
objectives of the applicable laws as provided by the Attorney General’s office. 
 
The board also voted that it is not legal or feasible to meet the objectives of the 
applicable laws to adopt or implement differing actions for businesses as listed in 
O.C.G.A. §50-13-4(3)(A)(B)(C)(D).  The formulation and adoption of these rules will 
impact every licensee in the same manner and each licensee is independently licensed, 
owned and operated in the field of Dentistry. 
 
GENERAL: 

Ø Correspondence from Karen Poris regarding waiver of late renewal fee for 
license renewal:     Dr. McFarland made a motion, Dr. Holcomb seconded and 
the Board voted to deny the request for a waiver of the late renewal fee. 

Ø Correspondence from Saunders P. Steiman, DDS regarding waiver of late 
renewal fee for license renewal:   Dr. McFarland made a motion, Ms. Anday 
seconded and the Board voted to deny the request for a waiver of the late 
renewal fee. 

Ø Correspondence from James T. Curry, DDS regarding waiver of late renewal 
fee for license renewal:   Dr. McFarland made a motion, Ms. Anday seconded 
and the Board voted to deny the request for a waiver of the late renewal fee. 

Ø Correspondence from Southern Regional Testing Agency, Inc. regarding 
observance of examination:   The Board requested that a response be sent 
nominating Dr. Zack  Studstill. 

Ø House Resolution 1169 Dental Trust Fund:     Viewed as informational 
Ø Corespondence from Carol Hanes, DMD at MCG regarding practitioners 

participating in the Externship Program during 2004:    Dr. Cook made a 
motion, Dr. Walker seconded and the Board approved the list as presented. 
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Ø Correspondence from ADA regarding State Board participation on 
accreditation site visits:    Dr. McFarland will attend at Emory University on 
November 30, 2004. 

 
Executive Director’s Open Session:   Ms. Anita Martin 

Ø Budget Information:  The Board requested information as to what percentage of 
salaries for Executive Director, Board Secretary and Applications Specialist are 
charged to the Board of Dentistry.  Also need information with an approximate 
percentage of time spent on Dental Board tasks. 

Ø Information posted to website on February 10, 2004 regarding responsibility of 
the dentist to assure license requirements are met by employees – Viewed as 
informational 

Ø Responses requested pertaining to renewals problems have not been received 
from all requested.  The Board requested that a second request for the 
information be sent by certified mail. 

 
Attorney General’s Report:   Ms. Allyson Krause 

• Reminded Board members of the importance of not speaking on behalf of the 
Board as an individual Board member.  Also reminded members of the Board 
who are involved with professional associations about the importance of 
remembering that the charge of the Board is to protect the public. 

 
Ratify Newly Issued Licenses:     Dr. Cook made a motion, Ms. Anday seconded and 
the Board voted to ratify the newly issued licenses. 
 

Lic No Name Lic Type 
DN012881 Eaton, Derek James Dentist 

DN012882 Hsu, Shun-ching Dentist 

DN012883 Hagan, Timmi Jo Dentist 

DN012884 El-Sayed, Maha M. Dentist 

DN012885 McNeal, Felicia Angeline Dentist 

DN012886 Wright, Holland Boyd Dentist 

DN012887 Bradford, Henry Tate, III Dentist 

DN012888 Reyzelman, Irina Dentist 

DN012889 Kadree, Temilade Oluisa Dentist 

DN012890 Carroccia, Anthony Scott Dentist 

      

DH009123 Walker, Jill Renee Dental Hygienist 

DH009124 Webb, Krystal Stanford Dental Hygienist 

DH009125 Coleman, Julie Harden Dental Hygienist 

DH009126 King, Shannon Marie Dental Hygienist 

DH009127 Le, Tinh-Tam Huynh Dental Hygienist 

DH009128 Powell, Shelly Lauren Dental Hygienist 

      

DNCS000191 Lugo, Alberto Conscious Sedation Permit 

      

DNGA000185 Reese, Reynaldo T General Anesthesia Permit 
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DNV000001 Parnell, Edward N, Jr Volunteer Dental 

      

  Reinstatements   
DH004024 Wheeler, Kimberly Kay Dental Hygienist 

DH003260 Brown, Patricia Etheridge Dental Hygienist 

DN009606 Whitt, John Fletcher Dentist 
 
Minutes:     Dr. Cook made a motion, Dr. Walker seconded and the Board voted to 
approve the minutes from the February 27, 2004 conference call meeting. 
 
Dr. McFarland made a motion, Dr. Andrews seconded and the Board voted to enter into 
Executive Session in accordance with O.C.G.A §43-1-19(h)(2) and §43-1-2(k) to 
deliberate on applications and enforcement matters and to receive information on 
applications, investigative reports, and the Assistant Attorney General’s report.  Voting 
in favor of the motion were those present who included Ms. Anday, Dr. Cook, Dr. 
Carroll, Dr. Walker, Dr. Nalley, Dr. Trager, Dr. Holcomb and Mr. McDougald.  The 
Board concluded Executive Session in order to vote on these matters and to continue 
with the public session. 

 
Licensure Overview Committee Report:   
 
Dr. Cook made a motion, Ms. Anday seconded and the Board voted to approve the 
following recommendations made by the Licensure Overview Committee. 

• C.H.E.:  Terminate probation 
• V.S.H., RDH.: Reinstate under Public Consent Order.  
• J.E.R., DDS: Terminate probation 
• R.C.R., RDH: Reinstate license and send letter of concern to employer 

for allowing unlicensed practice  
• R.E.L., DDS: Approve lifting of restrictions of consent order 

 
Applications/Licensure:     Mr. McDougald made a motion, Ms. Anday seconded and 
the Board voted to approve the following recommendations regarding applications and 
licensure. 
 
M.W.S. – License renewal:  Recommendation to renew license . 
 
K.L.D., RDH. – Response regarding license renewal:     Viewed as informational 
 
 
L.J.P., DDS. – Application for licensure:  Recommendation to deny pending 
disposition of North Carolina issues 
 
D.C.L., DDS. – Application for licensure:   Recommendation to meet with Licensure 
Overview Committee prior to issuing license. 
 
E.E.A. – Application for licensure:     Recommendation to allow to sit for SRTA. 
 
D.A.S. – Change in monitoring physician:   Recommendation to approve change. 
  
Investigative Report:     Dr. Walker made a motion, Ms. Anday seconded and the 
Board voted to approve the investigative report.   
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RECOMMENDATION CASE NUMBER 

CLOSE 37-01-01-00101 
CLOSE 37-01-01-00274 
CLOSE 37-01-00-00275 
CLOSE 37-01-02-00032 
CLOSE 03-0058 
CLOSE 03-0162 
CLOSE 03-0169 
CLOSE 03-0170/03-0192 
CLOSE 03-0204 
CLOSE 04-0009 
CLOSE 04-0013 
CLOSE 04-0017 
CLOSE 04-0037 
CLOSE 04-0047 
CLOSE 04-0054 
CLOSE 04-0060 
CLOSE 04-0067 
CLOSE 04-0069 
CLOSE 04-0085 
CLOSE 04-0087 
CLOSE 04-0109 
CLOSE 04-0113 
CLOSE 04-0117 
CLOSE 04-0134 
CLOSE 04-0151 
CLOSE 04-0156 

CLOSE W/LOC 04-0024 
CLOSE W/LOC 04-0021 
CLOSE W/LOC 04-0023 
CLOSE w/LOC 04-0028 
REFER TO A.G. 04-0159 
DO NOT OPEN 

CASE 
NEW COMPLAINT/KOOL SMILES 

General Dentistry for Children 
REFER TO A.G. (AMENDED C.O.) DENT03-028 

REFER TO A.G. FOR REVOCATION 37-01-98-0056 
REFER TO A.G. FOR REVOCATION 2002-1070 

 
Executive Director’s Report:    
Correspondence to Howard Sims, Macon Judicial Circuit District Attorney & Mr. 
Wayne Tillis, Peach County District Attorney’s Office regarding unlicensed practice of 
C.H.  - Board approved 
 
Attorney General’s Report:    Mr. McDougald made a motion, Dr. Cook seconded and 
the Board voted to approve the following recommendations regarding cases reported on 
by the Board Attorney. 

• J.M.P, DDS.:   Accept Private Consent Order 
• I.D., RDH:   Accept Private Consent Order 
• Christy Haffner, DMD: Accept Public Consent Order 
• Harvie Hill, DDS:  Accept Public Consent Order 
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Miscellaneous: 
• Correspondence from Denise Galster requesting refund of late renewal fee:  

Dr. McFarland made a motion, Dr. Carroll seconded and the Board voted to 
approve the refund of the late renewal fee. 

• Proposed CE plan for T.P.G.:   Dr. Cook made a motion, Dr. McFarland 
seconded and the Board voted to deny the proposed plan for continuing 
education and refer to Enforcement. 

• Correspondence from Audrey Kurz requesting refund of late renewal fee:   
Dr. McFarland made a motion, Dr. Carroll seconded and the Board voted to 
approve the refund of the late renewal fee. 

• Dr. Holcomb expressed concern regarding member boards role in the 
administrative decisions made by SRTA.  He stated that requests for information 
are not being addressed satisfactorily. 

 
The next Board meeting is scheduled for April 9, 2004 at 9:00 A.M.  
 
There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned 
at 2:07 P.M. 
 
Minutes recorded by: Susan S. Hewett, Board Secretary 
 
Minutes edited by:  Anita O. Martin, Executive Director  


