APPLICATION FOR MODERATE PARENTERAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION
PERMIT

GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY
2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11" Floor
East Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
www.gbd.georgia.gov

Please read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws and rules governing
the practice of dentistry in the State of Georgia. Visit the following web site for
information: www.gbd.georgia.gov

*Important**

The Board cannot process incomplete applications. If any item is missing,
incomplete or incorrect, your application cannot be reviewed by the Board.

Please review this application before you submit it to ensure that all information
and documentation is complete and correct.

Incomplete applications are maintained in the Board office for a period of one (1)
year. After such time the application is rendered void and the applicant must re-
apply and pay all required fees.

Application Checklist
The following checklist is an important part of your application. Please use this
checklist to ensure that you submit a COMPLETE application.

The $300 non-refundable application fee payable by check or money order to the

Georgia Board of Dentistry must be included with your application.
Checks returned for insufficient funds will be assessed a service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 16-9-20.

1. GENERAL INFORMATION: Permits are not transferable between offices. You
MUST have a permit for each office in which you will be administering Moderate
Parenteral Conscious Sedation.

2. COMPLETED APPLICATION: The completed application form must be
accompanied by a non-refundable application fee. NOTE: The application fee
includes one site evaluation. If you list more than one facility on your application or
if you request the inspection of an additional facility at a later date, you will be
required to pay an additional non-refundable $300.00 site evaluation fee.

3. ACLS/BCLS REQUIREMENT: All permits for moderate parenteral conscious
sedation require current certification in both BLS and ACLS or an appropriate
eguivalent emergency management course approved by the Board. If the application
is for pediatric patients only, PALS may be substituted for ACLS. Submit copies of
cards with your application.
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4. NATIONAL PRACTITIONER DATA BANK: Please obtain an updated self-query
from the NPDB-HIPDB by visiting www.npdb.hrsa.gov or call the Customer Service
Center at 1-800-767-6732.

5. MALPRACTICE QUESTIONNAIRE: Complete one for each suit and attach the
necessary documentation. (If not applicable, write N/A on the form sign, date, and
return with application).

6. MODERATE PARENTERAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMITS: Applicants for
moderate parenteral conscious sedation permits must meet all the requirements of
0O.C.G.A. §43-11-21 and Board Rule 150-13-.01.

7. REQUIRED INSPECTION: A board designated examiner will contact the applicant
in order to schedule a facility examination and demonstration by the applicant of
proficiency in administering moderate parenteral conscious sedation in accordance
with Georgia law.

8. RENEWAL & PROVISIONAL PERMITS: If a permit is granted, the permit will be
required to be renewed by the last day of December in ODD numbered years,
regardless of when you were issued the permit. Provisional permits are valid for six
(6) months and MAY be renewed once upon your request and at the discretion of
the board prior to the expiration date.

Applications cannot be processed until all requirements set forth in the Laws
and Rules governing Moderate Parenteral Conscious Sedation have been met.
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CHECK LIST FOR ITEMS TO ACCOMPANY APPLICATION
Enclosed
Copy of current ACLS and/or PALS card

Copies of current Healthcare Provider CPR cards for dentist and all support
personnel (minimum of two support personnel)

Malpractice Questionnaire

National Practitioner Data Bank Query

Application fee

For new applications

Certificates of completion of advanced training, Board certificates, and/or letter
of certification from program director or course director as outlined in the
application under the headings for each permit type

If your training was over two years ago: ( Check here if not applicable)

Submit evidence of current competency, i.e., a current permit from another

agency, or a letter certifying current competency from an institution or
supervising individual

Submit copies of all sedation CE taken in the last six years or since completion
training

Please carefully read the requirements contained in the application for each type of
permit, including the number of hours of training and the number and type of patient
experiences for moderate parenteral sedation permits. All pages of the application must
be filled out and returned with the above items for the application to be considered

complete. Please complete and return this check list indicating all necessary
documents are attached.

Applicant Signature Date

Updated 07/2023



Geo rgla Board Of Dentlstry Do Not Write in this Section:

. Receipt#:
2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11" Floor Amount:
East Tower Applicant#:
Atlanta, GA 30334 Initials/Date:

(404) 651-8000 www.ghd.georgia.gov

APPLICATION FOR MODERATE PARENTERAL CONSCIOUS
SEDATION Application Fee $300. (non-refundable)

Checks returned for insufficient funds will be assessed a service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 16-9-20.
License Type: Initial Moderate Parenteral Conscious Sedation Permit

Name as desired on Permit

First Middle Last
D.M.D. D.D.S

Name as shown on exam records or transcripts
(if different)

First Middle Last

Social Security Number Date of Birth

Physical Address

Number and Street Apt. No City/State Zip
P.O. Box not acceptable

Mailing Address
(if different) Number and Street Apt. No City/State Zip

Telephone Number Day Telephone Number Evening FAX Number

Georgia License No:

E-Mail Address (required)

Your e-mail is not public information and will not be shared with third parties.
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Affiliation:
Name of Practice

Physical Address

Number and Street Apt No City/State Zip
P.O. Box not acceptable

Mailing Address
(If different) Number and Street Apt No City/State Zip

Office Address of Facility applying for evaluation:
(If different from mailing address)

SECONDARY OFFICE(S) ADDRESS(S): (Must Be Evaluated/add’l $300.00 fee per site) / PHONE #
(Please download the Moderate Enteral Conscious Sedation Additional Site Evaluation Request Form from our website—if
you are applying for an additional evaluation)

) /
) /
3) /
4) /

*If you are applying for more than one location, please include a written statement
addressing how you will handle post operative issues/complications, including how
patients will be able to contact you about post operative issues/complications, your
anticipated response time to those patients, and the physical location(s) where you
would anticipate seeing those patients, if necessary. Please also address how
patients will be notified of how post operative issues/complications will be handled.
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| hereby certify that | have a properly equipped facility for the administration moderate parenteral
conscious sedation and it is staffed with a supervised team of certified auxiliary personnel. (In
accordance with the Laws and Rules of the State of Georgia with respect to the practice of dentistry.) :

( ) YES () NO

| certify that all of the following equipment and supplies are present at each facility for which I am
applying:

( ) equipment capable of delivering positive pressure oxygen ventilation including ancillary airway devices
( ) pulse oximeter

( ) suction equipment that allows aspiration of the oral and pharyngeal cavity

( ) operating table or chair that allows for patient positioning to maintain airway

() firm platform for CPR

() fail-safe inhalation system, if nitrous oxide/oxygen is used

() equipment necessary to establish intravascular access

( ) equipment to continuously monitor blood pressure and heart rate

() defibrillator (AED or manual)

( ) appropriate emergency drugs per ACLS or PALS protocol

( ) arecovery area with available oxygen and suction

( ) support personnel have current certification in BLS. Submit copies of cards.
( ) continual monitoring of end tidal CO:2

Have you ever been arrested, convicted, sentenced, pled guilty or given first offender status for any
felony, misdemeanor or any offense other than a minor traffic violation? DWI or DUI are not minor traffic
violations? ( ) YES ( ) NO

Have you undergone treatment for drug or alcohol use? ( ) YES ( ) NO

Has any disciplinary action been taken against you by any state board, or any regulatory board?
()YES()NO

Have you had any patient require hospitalization or medical attention, or have you had any patient deaths
in the office? ( ) YES ( ) NO

Have you ever had any malpractice suits filed against you? ( ) YES ( ) NO
Are there any other facts not disclosed by your answers which may have a bearing on your fithess or

eligibility to practice dentistry in Georgia and which should be placed at the disposal or brought to the
attention of the State Board of Dentistry? ( ) YES ( ) NO
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PLEASE READ CAREFULLY.

ALL APPLICANTS MUST SUBMIT WITH THIS APPLICATION PROOF OF SUCCESSFUL
COMPLETION OF THE EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS AND DOCUMENTATION OF ALL
APPLICABLE REQUIREMENTS AS SPECIFIED.

()

()

MODERATE PARENTERAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION: | hereby qualify

under one of the following:

(Submit a letter from your program director or your course director

certifying your hours of training and number of patient experiences for
adult and/or pediatric patients. If your training was over two years ago,
submit evidence of current competency, i.e., a current sedation permit
issued by another agency, or a letter certifying current competency from an
institution or supervising individual; and submit all sedation CE taken in

the last six years or since completion of training.)

Adult

()

()

Completion of an ADA accredited postdoctoral training program,
which affords comprehensive training to administer and manage
moderate parenteral conscious sedation; or

Completion of a continuing education course approved by the board
from a board approved organization which consists of a minimum of

sixty (60) hours of didactic instruction, of which twenty (20) hours
must be in-person, plus management of at least twenty (20) adult
patient experiences, which provides competency in moderate
parenteral conscious sedation.

Pediatric (age 12 and under)

()

()

Completion of an ADA accredited postdoctoral training program,
which affords comprehensive training and experience in
pediatric sedation commensurate with requirements of Rule
150-13-.01(5)(b)(2) and necessary to administer and manage
moderate parenteral conscious sedation of pediatric patients; or

Completion of a continuing education course approved by the
board from a board approved organization, which consists of a
minimum of sixty (60) hours of pediatric-specific didactic
instruction, of which twenty (20), hours must be in person, after
adult training and twenty (20) pediatric patient experiences to
include supervised administration of sedation to at least ten (10)
patients.
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Dental school attended

Year of graduation

POSTDOCTORAL PROGRAMS:

Name of accredited institution:

Type of program:

Program Director:

Dates of training:

CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES:

Name of course and sponsoring organization:

Course Director:

Dates attended:

MODERATE PARENTERAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT APPLICANTS:
# adult didactic hours (must be at least 60 hours, of which 20 must be in-person):

Total Hours: In-person Hours:

# adult patient experiences (must be at least 20 experiences):
Simulated/video:

and/or

# pediatric didactic hours (must be at least 60 hours of which 20 must be in-person):

Total Hours: In-person Hours:
# pediatric patient experiences (at least 20, 10 of which must be supervised administration

of sedation to patient):
simulated/video:

supervised administration of sedation:
(must be at least 10 experiences)
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Moderate Parenteral Conscious Sedation permit applications must submit a letter of
verification from the institution listed above certifying the level of competency, number
of hours of didactic training, number of hours of clinical training and the number of
patient induced during the course of training.

M. Type of agents used and route of administration:

Type of Agents Used

Route of Administration

(a) Children

(b) Adults
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GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY
2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11t Floor
East Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30334

CONSENT FORM

| hereby authorize the Georgia Board of Dentistry (“Board”) to receive any Georgia
criminal history record information pertaining to me which may be in the files of any state
or local criminal justice agency in Georgia.

Full Name (Print)

Physical Address (P.O. Boxes NOT Accepted)

City, State, Zip

Sex Race Date of Birth Social Security Number

One of the following must be checked:
[ ] This authorization is valid for 90/180/____ (circle one) days from date of signature.

[ 11, give consent to the Board to
perform periodic criminal history background checks for the duration of my licensure
with this state.

Signature of Applicant Date
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AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT:

I hereby certify that | am the person who executed this application for a permit to employ or use
moderate parenteral conscious sedation in the practice of dentistry in the State of Georgia. All
statements herein contained are true in every respect, and | hereby swear, if | am granted a
permit to employ or use moderate parenteral conscious sedation in the practice of dentistry in
the State of Georgia in compliance with all its dental laws, | will faithfully serve humanity and
refrain from anything in any manner which does not conform to the statutes and regulations
which govern the practice of dentistry in the State of Georgia.

By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, | hereby swear and affirm one of the
following to be true and accurate pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1:

1) I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. Please submit a copy of your
current Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or other
document as indicated on the last two pages of the application.

2) | am not a United States citizen, but | am a legal permanent resident of the United
States 18 years of age or older, or | am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal
Immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an alien number issued by the
Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. Please submit a copy
of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or
your 1-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS number.

I, the undersigned, do hereby affirm under penalty of perjury that all statements made and
information contained in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and
belief. Further, | consent to a thorough investigation of my employment record and other
information that may be necessary to verify my qualifications to practice. | understand that any
final disciplinary action that may ever be taken against my license, if it is granted, would be
provided to a national disciplinary reporting system and that my Social Security number would
be a part of that report.

| further hereby certify that in the event | am granted a moderate parenteral conscious
sedation permit by the Georgia Board of Dentistry (hereinafter referred to as the “Board”), |
agree to provide a thirty (30)-day advance notice to the Board should either or both of the
following conditions occur:

(1) I implement a significant change in technique or agents for administering moderate
parenteral conscious sedation.

(2) If I relocate or open an additional facility where | will administer moderate parenteral
conscious sedation, | understand that all such facilities must be appropriately equipped
with its own suction, physiologic monitoring equipment, positive pressure oxygen,
emergency drugs, and equipment of administration of moderate parenteral conscious
sedation. All of the aforementioned items must be stationary and not subject to transfer
from one site to another.
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SIGNATURE FOR AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT:

Signature of Applicant

ATTACH RECENT PHOTOGRAPH
( Passport Photo Size)
Please use glue or tape

Sworn to and subscribed before me this

day of

NOTARY PUBLIC

My Commission Expires:
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APPLICANT: PLEASE CHECK THE FORM OF IDENTIFICATION BELOW THAT YOU
POSSESS. RETURN THIS FORM ALONG WITH A COPY OF YOUR APPROPRIATE
DOCUMENTATION.

Name

Secure and Verifiable Documents Under O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2
Issued February 20, 2018, by the Office of the Attorney General, Georgia

The lllegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 (“IIREA”), as amended by Senate
Bill 160, signed into law as Act No. 27, (2013), provides that “[n]ot later than August 1, 2011, the
Attorney General shall provide and make public on the Department of Law’s website a list of
acceptable secure and verifiable documents. The list shall be reviewed and updated annually by
the Attorney General.” O.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(g). The Attorney General may modify this list on a
more frequent basis, if necessary.

The following list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of O.C.G.A.
8§ 50-36-2, contains documents that are verifiable for identification purposes, and documents on
this list may not necessarily be indicative of residency or immigration status.

An unexpired United States passport or passport card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR
§ 274a.2]

An unexpired United States military identification card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8
CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired driver’s license issued by one of the United States, the District of
Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the
Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or
the Swain Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists
sufficient identifying information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth,
gender, height, eye color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer

[0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]*

An unexpired identification card issued by one of the United States, the District of
Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of the
Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American Samoa, or the
Swain Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient
identifying information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender,
height, eye color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer [0.C.G.A. § 50-
36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR & 274a.2]

1 For identification presented to poll workers when voting, a registered Georgia voter may
present an expired Georgia driver’s license as proof of identification when voting pursuant to
O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417.
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An unexpired tribal identification card of a federally recognized Native American tribe,
provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient identifying information
regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to
enable the identification of the bearer. A listing of federally recognized Native American
tribes may be accessed at: https://www.bia.gov/tribal-leaders-directory [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-
2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired United States Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration Receipt Card
[0.C.G.A. §50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired Employment Authorization Document that contains a photograph of the bearer
[0.C.G.A. 850-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired passport issued by a foreign government, provided that such passport is
accompanied by a United States Department of Homeland Security (‘DHS”) Form 1-94, DHS
Form 1-94A, DHS Form 1-94W, or other federal form specifying an individual’s lawful

immigration status or other proof of lawful presence under federal immigration Iaw2
[O.C.G.A. 850-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired Merchant Mariner Document or Merchant Mariner Credential issued by the
United States Coast Guard [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired Free and Secure Trade (FAST) card [O.C.G.A. 8§ 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR
§41.2]

An unexpired NEXUS card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2]

An unexpired Secure Electronic Network for Travelers Rapid Inspection (SENTRI) card
[0.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2]

An unexpired driver’s license issued by a Canadian government authority [O.C.G.A.
§ 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

A Certificate of Citizenship issued by the United States Department of Citizenship and
Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-560 or Form N-561) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-
2(b)(3); 6 CFR & 37.11]

Senate Bill 160 (Act No. 27), effective July 1, 2013, limited the use of passports issued by
foreign nations to satisfy the requirements for submission of secure and verifiable documents
to only those passports submitted in conjunction with a United States Department of
Homeland Security (“DHS”) Form 1-94, DHS Form [-94A, DHS Form |-94W, or other federal
form specifying an individual’s lawful immigration status or other proof of lawful presence
under federal immigration law.
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A Certificate of Naturalization issued by the United States Department of Citizenship and
Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-550 or Form N-570) [O.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 6
CFR § 37.11]

Certification of Report of Birth issued by the United States Department of State (Form DS-
1350) [0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

Certification of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State (Form FS-545)
[0.C.G.A. 850-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State (Form FS-
240) [O.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a State, county, municipal
authority, or territory of the United States bearing an official seal [0.C.G.A § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6
CFR § 37.11]

When applying for any public benefit with the Department of Driver Services, an applicant
may submit either an expired or unexpired document that is listed above as a secure and
verifiable document. [0.C.G.A. 88 50-36-1(g) & 50-36-2(b)(3)]

When applying for a voter identification card pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417.1, an
individual may submit the aggregate forms of identification authorized by O.C.G.A.§
21-2-417.1(e).

In addition to the documents listed herein, if, in administering a public benefit or program, an
agency is required by federal law to accept a document or other form of identification for
proof of or documentation of identity, that document or other form of identification will be
deemed a secure and verifiable document solely for that particular program or administration
of that particular public benefit. [0.C.G.A. 8§ 50-36-2(c)]
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MALPRACTICE QUESTIONNAIRE

Name of Dentist/Dental Hygienist Business Telephone

Address City, State, Zip

MALPRACTICE CHARGES/ALLEGATIONS: Include name of patient, age, sex,
date of occurrence and location (include address).

List names of other dental hygienists and/or physicians:

DISPOSITION: 0O Pending O Settled If settled, provide the following information:
Settlement Date

Total Settlement Amount

Amount Attributable to you: O InCourt [ Out of Court

The Board requires that you furnish documentation of the above information directly
from the insurance company or attorney to the above address. Such
documentation should include plaintiff's complaint, settlement agreement, and/or
court order.

Signature Date

COMPLETE ONE QUESTIONNAIRE ON EACH MALPRACTICE SUIT
YOU MAY DUPLICATE THIS FORM.

If not, applicable, please write (N/A), sign and return with completed application.
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