APPLICATION FOR DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION

GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY
2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11" Floor
East Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30334
www.gbd.georgia.gov

Please read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws and rules governing the
practice of dental hygiene in the State of Georgia. Visit the following web site for information:
www.gbd.georgia.gov

*Important**

The Board cannot process incomplete applications. If any item is missing,
incomplete or incorrect, your application cannot be reviewed by the Board.

Please review this application before you submit it to ensure that all information
and documentation is complete and correct.

Incomplete applications are maintained in the Board office for a period of one (1)
year. After such time the application is rendered void and the applicant must re-
apply and pay all required fees.

Application Checklist
The following checklist is an important part of your application. Please use this checklist
to ensure that you submit a COMPLETE application.

The $75 non-refundable application fee payable by check or money order to the Georgia

Board of Dentistry must be included with your application.
returned for insufficient funds will be assessed a service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 16-9-20.

1. NOTARIZED APPLICATION: Completed application form accompanied by the
appropriate fee. Your application will not be processed unless the fee and all supporting
documents are received. If licensure is granted, the license will be required to be
renewed by the last day of December in ODD numbered years, regardless of when you
were originally licensed. The licensure process could take up to a minimum of 30 days
after submission of a completed application. Plan your application submission
accordingly.

2. LICENSE VERIFICATION: Official licensure verification for every dental hygiene license
ever held. Each verification must indicate the date of licensure, the licensure status
(active, inactive, expired, revoked, etc.), any disciplinary actions taken against you by the
licensing board and the result of these actions. The applicant must provide a certified
copy of the formal complaint/pleading, outcomes, and a personal written explanation for
each instance of discipline. You should call each state board about fees for these
services. The verification(s) must be submitted with your application IN THE ORIGINAL
SEALED ENVELOPE FROM THE BOARD OF EACH LICENSING STATE, or sent via
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email directly from each licensing state to rreece@dch.ga.gov. The verification must be
dated within four months of the Board'’s receipt of your complete application packet.

3. DEGREE TRANSCRIPT: An official transcript which documents graduation with an A.S.,
B.A., or B.S. degree from a dental hygiene school which is accredited by the American
Dental Association (ADA) Commission on Dental Education. The transcript must be IN
THE ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE FROM THE COLLEGE, or emailed directly from
the school to rreece@dch.ga.gov. Georgia laws 88 43-11-71 and 43-11-71.1 require
graduation from an ADA-accredited school.

4. NATIONAL BOARD SCORES: National Board Dental Hygiene Examination Scores
(NBDHE) from the ADA Joint Commission on National Dental examinations. The ADA
will no longer send results via mail. You may access your national board results online
by going to http://www.ada.org/~/media/JCNDE/pdfs/nb_online_results.pdf?la=en.
Download your results and submit with your application. ADDITIONALLY, please
contact the ADA Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations and request they
release your scores to the Georgia Board of Dentistry electronically. This is required for
our office to verify the score information you submitted with your application via the ADA
Hub. If you have any questions regarding this matter or have issues accessing this
information, please contact the ADA at 800-232-1694 or nbexams@ada.org.

5. CLINICAL LICENSURE EXAMINATION: Proof of having successfully passed a clinical
licensure examination with a score of 75 or higher in all sections. Please see Board Rule
150-5-.02 concerning examinations accepted by the Georgia Board of Dentistry.

The Georgia Board of Dentistry has restrictions on the number of times a licensure
candidate can take the examination. See Board Rule 150-5-.02(5) for information on
number of examination attempts allowed.

6. JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION: A copy of the exam is included in the application
packet. Successful completion of the Jurisprudence Examination with a score of 75 or
higher is required. The Jurisprudence Examination may be taken as an open book exam.
You may refer to the Board’s law and rules governing the practice of dental hygiene in
Georgia located on the Board’s website at https://gbd.georgia.gov/laws-policies-rules to
assist you with the examination. Score is only valid for one (1) year.

7. NATIONAL PRACTITIONER DATABANK: Submit a sealed self-query from the NPDB-
HIPDB, please visit www.npdb.hrsa.gov or call the Customer Service Center at 1-800-
767-6732.

If the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) report provides any disciplinary action,
certified copies of any pending or final disciplinary actions or malpractice actions against
applicant must be submitted. All applicants must submit a NPDB report along with the
completed application. The NPDB report must be dated within four months of the
submission of the application. The ONLY applicants exempt from the requirement of
NPDB report submission are those applicants within 6 months of dental school
graduation and have never been issued a dental license in any state or U.S. territory.

The NPDB report must be received in the ORIGINAL SEALED ENVELOPE FROM
NPDB. Applicants who have disciplinary or malpractice case(s) (open & closed) will be
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considered for licensure on a case- by-case basis, after receipt of all required application
materials. For each case, the applicant must submit:

1) A copy of the formal complaint pleadings filed by the plaintiff/complainant or State
Regulatory Agency,

2) A copy of the final action, disposition, or settlement,

3) A personal explanation of the disciplinary action or the malpractice claim, and

4) Any further information requested by the Board in separate communications.

8. CPR: A photocopy of your current CPR certification in compliance with Board Rule 150-
5-.04.

9. Copy of Court Document or Affidavit explaining any discrepancies of the applicant’s
name if documents submitted bear different name(s). [i.e. marriage certificate, divorce
decree, legal name change]

10. EXPEDITED APPLICATION REVIEW: Military spouses, service members, and
transitioning service members qualify for expedited application review and should review
Board Rule 150-7-.06 for detalils.

11. TEMPORARY LICENSURE: If applying for temporary licensure please follow ALL
instructions listed on the form.

Relocation: - If you relocate during the time that your application is being processed, you must

notify the Board of your new address in writing by fax to (470) 386-6124 or mail. This will enable
you to receive Board correspondence.
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Georgia Board Of DentiStry Do Not Write in this Section:

2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11" Floor Receipt#:
East Tower Amount:
Atlanta, GA 30334 Applicant#:

Initials/Date:

(404) 651-8000 www.ghd.georgia.gov

Application For: Dental Hygiene License By Examination
Application $75 Non-Refundable Fee
Checks returned for insufficient funds will be assessed a $40 service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 16-9-20

I am a military spouse, service member, or transitioning service member, and | am requesting expedited
application review. | understand that | may be required to submit a copy of my PCS orders, a copy of my
spouse’s PCS orders and my marriage certificate, or other documentation as requested by the Board.

Yes No

Part I: Personal Information

1. Name:
Last First Middle Maiden

Name as shown on exam records or transcripts (if different)

2. Social Security Number*: - - 3. Date of Birth:

4. Physical Address:

(Street) (Apt. #) (City/State/Zip Code) (P.O. Box is not acceptable)

5. Mailing address (if different):

(Street) (Apt. #) (City/State/Zip Code)
If you are granted a license, your name, mailing address and license number are public information.

6. E-Mail Address:

7. Telephone #: Home: () Work () Other ()

8. Military Service: Dates of Service:

Honorable/Dishonorable Discharge:

*This information is authorized to be obtained and disclosed to state and federal agencies pursuant to O.C.G.A. §19-11-1 and O.C.G.A. §20-3-295, 42
U.S.C.A. §551 and 20 U.S.C.A. §1001. It may also be disclosed to the National Practitioner’s Databank (NPDB) and the Healthcare Integrity and

Protection Data Bank (HIPDB) or other licensing boards, or other regulatory agencies for license tracking purposes.
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Part Il: Professional Education

9. Highest Degree Earned: Doctorate Master Bachelor Associate Diploma/Certificate

10. Name/Address of Entry Level Professional Institution (e.g. technical school, undergraduate
college/university):

a. Dates Attended: c. Graduation Date:
b. Major: d. Degree(s) Earned:
11. Name/Address of Graduate School/University:

a. Dates Attended: c. Graduation Date:

b. Major: d. Degree(s) Earned:

12. Name/Address of Post-Graduate School/Hospital (if applicable):

a. Type of Training: b. Dates Attended:

13. National Board Information:

| hereby give permission for staff of the Georgia Board of Dentistry to verify my national board scores through the ADA
Hub. My DENTPIN # is .l understand the result information made available through the ADA
Hub is intended for use in making licensure decisions. It is not to be used for other purposes or shared with any group or
individual outside of the Georgia Board of Dentistry.

Signature of Applicant

14. National Practitioners Data Bank/Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank:

The Georgia Board of Dentistry requires all candidates for licensure to query the NPDB/HIPDB before licensure will be
granted: You may contact the NPDB/HIPDB by calling: 1-800-767-6732 or by submitting query online at:
www.npdb.hrsa.gov. When you receive the RESPONSE from the NPDB/HIPDB please forward the information to the Board
office along with your completed application.

If you are a recent graduate (within the past six months) and not licensed in any other state, you are exempt from this

requirement.

15. Did you require special accommodations for any examination, SRTA, CRDTS, NERB, ADEX, WREB, or CITA as
outlined in the Americans with Disabilities Act? [J Yes or [ No If yes, what accommodations were made?

16. Have you ever failed a portion of any clinical examination, CRDTS, NERB, ADEX, SRTA, WREB, CITA, or any other
regional or state clinical examination?
O Yes [ONo Ifyes, give dates (list regional or state if applicable).

If you’ve failed this exam three (3) or more times please request an exam history from CRDTS, NERB, ADEX, SRTA,
WERB, CITA or other regional or state board.

17. Since graduating from hygiene school and passing the clinical examination, has there been a gap in clinical experience in
excess of three years?

O Yes [ No Ifyes, please provide a written explanation.
Part I11:

If ves to any of the following questions you must attach a full written explanation pertaining to that
particular guestion.

18. Do you presently have any contagious or infectious disease? 1 Yes [ No

19. Have you ever had a formal complaint filed against you with any dental hygiene society, association, hospital, or dental
board? O Yes [ No
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20. Has any state licensing board revoked or suspended your certificate/license, or taken other disciplinary action?
O Yes [ONo

21. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a dental hygiene license? [0 Yes [ No
22. Have you ever had any malpractice suits filed against you? [0 Yes [0 No

23. Have you ever been denied issuance of or, pursuant to disciplinary proceedings, refused renewal of a license by any board
or agency in Georgia or any other state? [0 Yes [ No

24. Have you ever been denied the privilege of taking an examination before any Dental Board or licensing authority?
O Yes [ONo

25. Have you ever been refused, or suspended from membership in a dental hygiene society, or association, or hospital staff?
O Yes O No

26. Have you ever personally used narcotics or alcohol excessively or have you ever undergone treatment for addiction to
alcohol or other controlled substances or habit forming substances? [0 Yes [ No

27. Are there any other facts not disclosed by your answers which may have a bearing on your fitness or eligibility to practice
dentistry in Georgia and which should be placed at the disposal or brought to the attention of the State Board of Dentistry?
O Yes O No

28. Have you ever been summoned, arrested, taken into custody, indicted, convicted or tried for, or charged with, or pled
guilty to, or pled, nolo contender to, a violation of any law or ordinance or the commission of any felony or misdemeanor
(excluding minor traffic violations), (DWI & DUIs’ are not minor traffic violations), or have you been requested to appear
before a prosecuting attorney or investigative agency in any matter? [0 Yes [0 No

(Although a conviction may have been expunged from the records by order of court, it nevertheless must be disclosed in your
answer to this question). If yes, for each occurrence furnish a written statement giving the complete facts in your own words,
including in such statement the date, name and nature of the offense, the name and locality of the court, and the disposition of
each such matter. You must attach the court disposition.

29. Out of State Licensure Certification(s):

List all states which you have been issued a license to practice dentistry: (active, inactive, revoked, suspended, expired,
lapsed etc.) You should have each state listed send an official letter of licensure verification/certification. See instruction

sheet for details. If not applicable check here: ( ) n/a and initial

STATE DATE OF LICENSURE LICENSE STATUS
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Part IV:
AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION

I acknowledge and state that | have read the application and instructions that accompanied this application and | have answered
all questions in compliance with these instructions. | acknowledge that it is my responsibility to read and become familiar with
the Dental Practice Act and the Board Rules.

| further state that by submitting this application for a license to practice dentistry/dental hygiene in the State of Georgia, |
hereby authorize and consent to have an investigation made as to the moral character, professional reputation and fitness for the
practice of dentistry/ dental hygiene. | agree to give any further information in which may be required in reference to my past
record. | understand that | will not receive a copy of the report or know its contents and | further understand that the contents
of the investigative report will be privileged unless determined otherwise by the Board or Court Order.

I hereby authorize the Georgia Board of Dentistry to receive any criminal history record pertaining to me, which may be in the
files of any state or local criminal justice agency in Georgia or any other State or Territory. | authorize and request every
person, hospital, clinic, community, governmental agency (local, state, federal or foreign), court, association, institution, or
other organization having control of any documents, records and other information pertaining to me, to furnish to the Georgia
Board of Dentistry any information, including documents, records, regarding charges or complaints filed against me, formal or
informal, pending or closed, or any other pertinent data and to permit the Georgia Board of Dentistry or any of its agents or
representatives to inspect and make copies of such documents, records and other information, in connection with this
application, subsequent licensure or practice thereunder.

I hereby release, discharge and exonerate the Georgia Board of Dentistry, its agents or representatives, and any person so
furnishing information, from any and all liability of every nature and kind arising out of the furnishing or inspection of such
documents, records or other information or the investigation made by the Georgia Board of Dentistry. | authorize the Georgia
Board of Dentistry to release information, material, documents, orders or the like relating to me or to this application to any other
State or Territory of the United States or Province of Canada, a law enforcement agency, a hospital or other appropriate agencies
as determined by the Board.

I, the undersigned, do hereby affirm under penalty of perjury that all statements made and information contained in this
application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. Further, | consent to a thorough investigation of my
employment record and other information that may be necessary to verify my qualifications to practice. | understand that any
final disciplinary action that may ever be taken against my license, if it is granted, would be provided to a national disciplinary
reporting system and that my Social Security number would be a part of that report.

By signing this application, electronically or otherwise, I hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and accurate
pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 50-36-1:

1) I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. Please submit a copy of your current Secure and
Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or document as indicated on pages 12 & 13 of this
application.

2) I am not a United States citizen, but | am a legal permanent resident of the United States 18 years of age or
older, or I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older
with an alien number issued by the Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. Please submit a
copy of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or your 1-94 number and, if
needed, SEVIS number.

In making the above attestation, | understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures may result in disciplinary
action by the Georgia Board of Dentistry and/or criminal prosecution.
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SIGNATURE PAGE FOR AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICATION

This is to certify that the foregoing information is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.

Signature of Applicant
(PHOTOGRAPH)
Date Please attach recent photograph

(Print Name Above)

County State

being duly sworn, says that he/she is the person who executed the above application for license to practice dentistry/dental
hygiene in the State of Georgia; and that all the statements herein contained are true in every respect and that the attached
photo is a true photo of the applicant.

Notary Public Notary: Do not notarize this section
unless photograph is attached.

Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of ,

(SEAL) My Commission Expires
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Part V: STATE LICENSURE CERTIFICATION

TO THE APPLICANT: Please complete the top section of this form and mail to each
state in which you are now or have been licensed to practice dental hygiene. This form
may be reproduced as necessary. Note: A license verification as described in the
above instructions (under Application Checklist) may be submitted in lieu of this
form.

TO: Board of Dentistry

| am applying for licensure and the Georgia Board requires that your Board complete this
form in order for my application for licensure to be considered. By signing this form, |
am giving my consent to the release of any information, favorable or otherwise, for
review by the Georgia Board in its consideration of me for licensure.

My license, Number , was issued by your Board on on the
basis of ( ) State Board Exam, ( ) Reciprocity/Endorsement, ( ) National Board,
( ) Credentials, ( ) Other

Applicant's Full Name (print or type) Address

Signature City State Zip

*This section to be completed by an official of the above referenced licensing board.*

Please return this form directly to the applicant in a sealed envelope.

Dental/Dental Hygiene license number to practice dentistry/dental

hygiene in the State of was issued on day

Is license current and in good standing? () Yes () No*
Has any disciplinary action ever been taken against this license? () Yes* () No

*Please provide complete details, including copies of any documents.

Signature Date

Title (BOARD SEAL)

Licensing Board
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GEORGIA DENTAL HYGIENE TEMPORARY PERMIT APPLICATION

INSTRUCTIONS: The Georgia Board of Dentistry will issue a Temporary Dental
Hygiene Permit to a dental hygienist who meets the following conditions:
1. Holds a current license in another state.
2. Holds a current CPR certificate that meets the requirements of Board Rule 150-5-
.04.
3. Has applied for and received confirmation from the testing agency of being
scheduled for the next regularly scheduled examination.
Has paid a $150.00 non-refundable fee.
Which examination date and location have you been scheduled?
Date of examination Location
6. Has completed all other requirements for permanent licensure on file in the Board
office, except having taken a Board approved examination that meets the
requirements of Board Rule 150-5-.02. (Please include a copy of the email from
the testing agency confirming you are scheduled for the next regularly scheduled
examination)

ok~

Name:

(Last) (First) (Middle)
Address:
Phone E-Mail Address: SS#
Date of Birth Place of Birth

In what state(s) are you currently licensed to practice dental hygiene?

Name of dental hygiene school and graduation date:

Employment information must be supplied to the Board before actual practice of
dental hygiene begins. If granted a Dental Hygiene Temporary Permit, | will be
employed by:

Dentist’s Name Telephone#

Address City, State, Zip

If employer is not known at the time of making application, it is the applicant’s
responsibility to contact the Board when you do have this information before you begin
work.

I understand that this permit is valid only until the release of the scores from the
next examination.

Signature Date
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GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY
2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11 Floor
East Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30334

CONSENT FORM

| hereby authorize the Georgia Board of Dentistry (“Board”) to receive any Georgia
criminal history record information pertaining to me which may be in the files of any
state or local criminal justice agency in Georgia.

Full Name (Print)

Physical Address (P.O. Boxes NOT Accepted)

City, State, Zip

Sex Race Date of Birth Social Security Number

One of the following must be checked:
[ ] This authorization is valid for 90/180/___(circle one) days from date of signature.

], give consent to the Board to
perform periodic criminal history background checks for the duration of my
licensure with this state.

Signature of Applicant Date
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APPLICANT: PLEASE CHECK THE FORM OF IDENTIFICATION BELOW
THAT YOU POSSESS. RETURN THIS FORM ALONG WITH A COPY OF
YOUR APPROPRIATE DOCUMENTATION.

Name

Secure and Verifiable Documents Under O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2
Issued February 20, 2018, by the Office of the Attorney General, Georgia

The Illegal Immigration Reform and Enforcement Act of 2011 (“IIREA”), as amended by
Senate Bill 160, signed into law as Act No. 27, (2013), provides that “[n]ot later than
August 1, 2011, the Attorney General shall provide and make public on the Department of
Law’s website a list of acceptable secure and verifiable documents. The list shall be
reviewed and updated annually by the Attorney General.” O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(g). The
Attorney General may modify this list on a more frequent basis, if necessary.

The following list of secure and verifiable documents, published under the authority of
0.C.G.A. §50-36-2, contains documents that are verifiable for identification purposes, and
documents on this list may not necessarily be indicative of residency or immigration status.

An unexpired United States passport or passport card [0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8
CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired United States military identification card [O.C.G.A. 8 50-36-
2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired driver’s license issued by one of the United States, the District
of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth
of the Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American
Samoa, or the Swain Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the
bearer or lists sufficient identifying information regarding the bearer, such as
name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to enable the

identification of the bearer [0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]*

An unexpired identification card issued by one of the United States, the District
of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, Guam, the Commonwealth of
the Northern Marianas Islands, the United States Virgin Island, American
Samoa, or the Swain Islands, provided that it contains a photograph of the
bearer or lists sufficient identifying information regarding the bearer, such as
name, date of birth, gender, height, eye color, and address to enable the
identification of the bearer [0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

! For identification presented to poll workers when voting, a registered Georgia voter may
present an expired Georgia driver’s license as proof of identification when voting
pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417.
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An unexpired tribal identification card of a federally recognized Native American
tribe, provided that it contains a photograph of the bearer or lists sufficient
identifying information regarding the bearer, such as name, date of birth, gender,
height, eye color, and address to enable the identification of the bearer. A listing
of federally recognized Native American tribes may be accessed at:
https://www.bia.gov/tribal-leaders-directory [O.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR §
274a.2]

An unexpired United States Permanent Resident Card or Alien Registration
Receipt Card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired Employment Authorization Document that contains a photograph
of the bearer [0.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

An unexpired passport issued by a foreign government, provided that such
passport is accompanied by a United States Department of Homeland Security
(“DHS”) Form 1-94, DHS Form 1-94A, DHS Form 1-94W, or other federal form
specifying an individual’s lawful immigration status or other proof of lawful
presence under federal immigration law? [0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR §
274a.2]

An unexpired Merchant Mariner Document or Merchant Mariner Credential
issued by the United States Coast Guard [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR 8
274a.2]

An unexpired Free and Secure Trade (FAST) card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22
CFR §41.2]

An unexpired NEXUS card [O0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2]

An unexpired Secure Electronic Network for Travelers Rapid Inspection
(SENTRI) card [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 22 CFR § 41.2]

An unexpired driver’s license issued by a Canadian government authority
[0.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 8 CFR § 274a.2]

A Certificate of Citizenship issued by the United States Department of
Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-560 or Form N-561)
[O.C.G.A. 8 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

2 Senate Bill 160 (Act No. 27), effective July 1, 2013, limited the use of passports issued
by foreign nations to satisfy the requirements for submission of secure and verifiable
documents to only those passports submitted in conjunction with a United States
Department of Homeland Security (“DHS”’) Form 1-94, DHS Form 1-94A, DHS Form I-
94W, or other federal form specifying an individual’s lawful immigration status or other
proof of lawful presence under federal immigration law.
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A Certificate of Naturalization issued by the United States Department of
Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) (Form N-550 or Form N-570)
[0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3);

6 CFR § 37.11]

Certification of Report of Birth issued by the United States Department of State
(Form DS-1350) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

Certification of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State
(Form FS-545) [O.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR 8 37.11]

Consular Report of Birth Abroad issued by the United States Department of State
(Form FS-240) [0.C.G.A. § 50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR § 37.11]

An original or certified copy of a birth certificate issued by a State, county,
municipal authority, or territory of the United States bearing an official seal
[0.C.G.A §50-36-2(b)(3); 6 CFR 8§ 37.11]

When applying for any public benefit with the Department of Driver Services, an
applicant may submit either an expired or unexpired document that is listed above
as a secure and verifiable document. [O.C.G.A. 88 50-36-1(g) & 50-36-2(b)(3)]

When applying for a voter identification card pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 21-2-
417.1, an individual may submit the aggregate forms of identification
authorized by O.C.G.A. § 21-2-417.1(e).

In addition to the documents listed herein, if, in administering a public benefit or
program, an agency is required by federal law to accept a document or other form
of identification for proof of or documentation of identity, that document or other
form of identification will be deemed a secure and verifiable document solely for
that particular program or administration of that particular public benefit.
[O.C.G.A. §50-36-2(c)]
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Affidavit Regarding Citizenship

Please submit this document along with a copy of your secure & verifiable document to the Board
office as indicated on the application.

Print Name: License Number:

APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT:

I hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this application is true and correct to
the best of my knowledge and belief. I further swear and affirm that | have read and understand
the current state laws and rules and regulations of the Board for which | am applying for licensure
and I agree to abide by these laws and rules, as amended from time to time.

By signing this application, | hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and
accurate pursuant to O.C.G.A. §50-36-1 (check one):

1) I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. Please submit a copy of your
current Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or document
as indicated on the Board’s website.

2) I am not a United States citizen, but | am a legal permanent resident of the United
States 18 years of age or older, or | am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal
immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an alien number issued by the
Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. Please submit a copy
of your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien number or
your 1-94 number and, if needed, SEVIS number.

In making the above attestation, | understand that any failure to make full and accurate disclosures
may result in disciplinary action by the Board for which | am applying for licensure and/or
criminal prosecution.

Signature of Applicant Date
Personally appeared before me, the undersigned official authorized to administer oaths, comes

who deposes and swears that he/she is the person who

(Applicant’s Printed Name)
executed this affidavit for a professional license application in the State of Georgia; and that all of

the statements herein contained are true to the best of his/her knowledge and belief.

Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of , 20

NOTARY PUBLIC

My Commission Expires: (Notary Seal)
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GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY
2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11 Floor
East Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30334

CANDIDATES MUST SUBMIT A COMPLETED JURISPRUDENCE EXAM ALONG WITH A COMPLETED APPLICATION WITH
NECESSARY DOCUMENTS IN ORDER TO HAVE A COMPLETE APPLICATION.

Name Social Security Number
Address

Date

JURISPRUDENCE
DENTAL HYGIENE EXAMINATION

TRUE OR FALSE: Place the appropriate word in the space provided. Each question will be awarded 4 points.

(Questions 1 thru 5)
A dental hygienist holding a license in Georgia may be disciplined if he/she has:

1. provided dental screening at a pre-approved health fair setting.
2. made misleading, deceptive, or untrue representations in the practice of dental hygiene.
3. had his/her license revoked, suspended, or annulled by any lawful licensing dental

authority other than the Georgia Board of Dentistry.
4. been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude.

5. allowed an unlicensed person to practice dental hygiene by using his/her license
registration.

GENERAL  (Questions 6 thru 12)

6. Dr. Joe performs an initial oral exam; Mrs. B, Dr. Joe’s assistant, polishes
the patient’s teeth and the patient is charged for prophylaxis. This is an
appropriate charge.

7. A dental hygienist was asked to perform dental screenings at a board
approved health fair setting. The requirement of direct supervision does
not apply.

8. A licensed dental hygienist is allowed to air polish, micro etche, and also

use air abrasion.

9. It is fair and ethical to use any means to draw patronage from the practice
of the hygienist’s former dentist-employer.

10.  The requirement of direct supervision does not apply to the educational
training of hygiene students.
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11.  All continuing education hours must be received during the two-year
Renewal period to which they are applied.

12. A dental assistant may perform a rubber cup prophy on a patient with
primary dentition only after completing a curriculum approved by the
Board or a minimum of eight hours of on the-job-training in the provision
of rubber cup prophies by a Georgia licensed dentist.

(Questions 13 thru 16)
Georgia Law allows a hygienist to:

13.  condense a final amalgam restoration.
14.  make final impressions for crowns and bridges.

15.  dry the MB canal of #30 with an absorbent point and place a soothing
medicament if instructed to do by Dr. Jones a licensed and registered
dentist.

16.  make final impressions for partial dentures.

Multiple Choice. Choose the BEST answer to make the statement a true statement.
17.  Who is responsible for the actions of the dental assistant?

(a) the office manager

(b) the attending dentist

(c) the dental hygienist

(d) the treatment coordinator

18. A dental assistant may perform all of the duties of a dental hygienist
under which conditions?

(a) no circumstance.

(b) when the hygienist is on sick leave.

(c) when there are too many patients to be seen.

(d) when the hygienist instructs the dental assistant to do so

19.  According to Georgia Rules, how many scientific hours are required for
continuing education?

(a) 5

(b) 12
(c) 15
(d) 20
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20.

21.

22.

23.

24,

25.

04/2023

How many hours does CPR count toward continuing education credits for
a dental hygienist?

(a) four
(b) five
(c) eight
(d) ten

The dentist has administered Nitrous Oxide to the patient and has left the
operatory. The patient informs you that he does not feel any effects of the
gas. It is legal for you as a dental hygienist to increase the Nitrous Oxide

level:

(@) 0%

(b) 10%
(c) 15%
(d) 20%

According to Georgia Law, practicing as a dental hygienist without a
license is:

(a) afelony

(b) a misdemeanor
(c) unethical conduct
(d) exploitation

Current CPR certification may be obtained by demonstrating skills in:

(@) one and two man CPR with management for airway for seniors.

(b) one and two man CPR with management for airway for adults.

(c) one and two man CPR with management for airway for adults,
children, and infants.

(d) one and two man CPR with management for airway for adults,
children, and special needs citizens.

To practice under general supervision a dental hygienist must:

(a) maintain professional liability insurance with minimum coverage
of $1,000,000

(b) have at least 2 years of experience

(c) be in compliance with CE and CPR requirements

(d) be licensed in good standing

(e) all of the above

A dental hygienist practicing under general supervision in a private office
can perform which of the following functions?

(a) oral prophylaxis

(b) scaling and root planing
(c) fluoride treatment

(d) both Aand C



KErhAAkIAIAAAIAAIAIAAIAAAAEAAIAIAAAIAAARAAAAAAIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAArAAkArAhkhdhhhhhkhihikihkiihkiiikkh

END OF EXAM

KErAAAkIAAAAIAAIAIAAIAAAAAAIAEIAAAIAAAAAAAAAIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAArAhhkrhhdhhhhhikihkiihkiiikkh
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GEORGIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY
2 MLK Jr. Drive, SE, 11 Floor
East Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30334

Georgia Board of Dentistry
Jurisprudence Examination Dental/Dental Hygiene

Rule 150-3-.01(6); Rule 150-5-.02(9): In determining whether an applicant has
met the requirements for licensure, an applicant must receive a passing score of 75 or

greater on the Georgia jurisprudence examination. Such score will be deemed valid for a
period not to exceed one year from the date in which the examination was administered.

AFFIDAVIT of Applicant:

l, , do hereby certify under oath the following:

| understand that this is an open book examination and the only authorized
sources of assistance for completing this examination are the Georgia Law and Rules.

| have read the Georgia Law and Rules regulating the practice of dentistry in its
entirety and have completed this examination without the aid or assistance of any
individual or other unauthorized source.

| further understand that in accordance with O.C.G.A. § 43-11-47(a)(2) and
0.C.G.A. §43-11-72, the Board shall have the authority to refuse to grant a license or to
revoke a license or to discipline a licensee upon a finding by a majority of the Board that
a licensee or applicant has knowingly made misleading, deceptive, untrue, or fraudulent
representations in the practice of dentistry or on any document connected therewith.

Witness my signature, the day of , 20

Signature of Affiant

Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of , 20

Notary Public

My Commission Expires:
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